YSL Baby Doll Kiss & Blush Lips & Cheeks in 03 Rose Libre

YSL-Kiss-&-Blush-Rose-Libre-1To say that I was ecstatic to try my very first YSL Kiss & Blush is a huge understatement Nothing excites me more than discovering new treasures particularly when they’re from the beauty department. I realise that sounds a little shallow but sometimes the mind needs a little time-out, wouldn’t you agree?

Back to the YSL Kiss & Blush and once again YSL have made it pretty easy for us beauty lovers to pull out our wallets and hand over our hard earned cash. Sure there might be a little trepidation at first (hello steep price point), but the Kiss & Blush are pretty hard to resist once you’ve given them a whirl. I mean take a look at these babies – are they not the prettiest things you’ve ever seen? Granted they look like fancy bottles of nail polish, but that’s part of the allure wouldn’t you say?

YSL-Kiss-&-Blush-Rose-Libre-4When I initially heard YSL was launching a 2-in-1 lip and cheek product I was super excited. I spent a considerable amount of time trawling through online images. I knew choosing just one shade (from a sea of pretty colours) was going to be the hardest part.

I’m usually a bright lip kinda girl but after some deliberation I chose the shade 03 Rose Libre which under normal circumstances, isn’t a shade I would have gravitated toward. 03 Rose Libre a neutral mid-toned pink which has the slightest bluish tint that just works for me – it’s just easy.

The air whipped luminous texture feels very lightweight on both the lips and cheeks. As a blush it has a lovely translucent finish (sans shimmer) that imparts a really lovely and healthy sheer wash of colour, that just so happens to make me look like I’ve just gone for a winter run. On the lips, it appears much more matte. Admittedly there is a little slip on first application but it eventually sets. It doesn’t cake when being built up and the longevity is good but not amazing (if I’m completely honest). What I like most about this product is that it works as a multipurpose product meaning there is less to throw in my makeup bag plus it’s great for when I want that match-matchy look.

This is by far my favourite launch in a long time from YSL and I’m looking forward to adding more shades in the future, when my wallet permits. Have you tried these yet?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

21 thoughts on “YSL Baby Doll Kiss & Blush Lips & Cheeks in 03 Rose Libre

  1. I think these babies are beautiful, but I’ve not drawn to them myself. Probably because lips and cheeks are my least fave makeup items, but damn they are beautiful. Do you straight apply it to your cheek and blend or dab on a brush beforehand? YSL hits gold again:)

    • Yeah I know you’re not a cheek and lip kinda girl – so funny as I am the complete opposite 🙂 Lips and cheeks are my thang, lol 🙂 Yeah I pretty much dab a little on a clean finger and dab away. I find it looks prettiest this way, and the most natural 🙂

      • Well, you know, you know. I’m just always drinking (water!) that lipstick/gloss/anything just gets in the way. UGH. Plus that pesky little rosacea problem gives me a “natural” blush. We always want what we can’t have, huh? Opposites:) Love.

        Do you mostly use it for lips or cheeks? I’ve never understood the duality of some products, especially for lips and cheeks. I feel like lipstick/lipgloss has such a different texture and consistency than a cream blush…

      • Yep that is so true 🙂 I suppose I don’t rave about eyeshadows for example, because i feel like they do nothing for my hooded eyes (also I’m a tad lazy and can’t be arsed most of the time).

        With the Kiss & Blush I do actually use as a dual product, although not necessarily at the same time. I think the formula is pretty good and I think it works equally as well on the lips as it does on the cheeks, although maybe I picked a more forgiving shade and that’s why I’m loving it. The real test might be with the brighter shades, like 01 Fuschia Desinvolte (ooohhh so pretty).

  2. Gosh these look so good! I love the packaging for these to – classic but oh so pretty! Don’t worry, I get way to excited over beauty related buys 😉 I also looove coming up with my ‘wishlists’ 🙂 There’s just something about lists and beauty products that go so well together 😛

    • Yeah I love it – such a pretty shade! I suppose it is a recent debut depending on where you live in the world.

      I suspect that with some of the brighter shades you’d have to work fast on the cheeks to avoid streaks however I haven’t had any issues with this shade. It’s super easy to apply too – I generally use the applicator to disperse colour on my finger and then I dab my cheeks and/or lips.

  3. I really like this color! Most of the other bloggers/vloggers I follow went for either the really pale pink shade or the bright red or fuchsia. This one seems a lot more wearable 🙂 Incidentally, I got a sample of the YSL Babydoll mascara recently and it is AMAZING – hands-down the best mascara I’ve ever tried. (Though I haven’t got my hands on the Benefit They’re Real! mascara yet, so perhaps I’m saying that too soon).

  4. I absolutely agree with you on everything from the gorgeous formula to the steep price. You chose such a pretty pink! It looks very similar to mine, don’t you think?
    It looks like it will look amazing on less bronzed/winter skin. 😀

    • Oh I hate when you have your heart set on something and it takes it’s sweet merry time to arrive.

      Pink Hedoniste (08) looks to be a very popular shade amongst beauty bloggers and rightfully so (it’s soooo pretty). It’s a shame they are so expensive though. It will be a while till I can get another one.

  5. Pingback: Pretty in Pink | PrettyTrippy

Leave a Reply

