June 2014 Beauty Favourites

June-14-FavouritesOh God! It’s June favourites time and that means we’re at the half way mark, it also means it’s birthday time, which if I’m honest tends to freak me more and more as the years go by. Anyway back to the post. I picked out my favouites for the month of June based on what I was reaching for most. Most of the products are trusty favouites but I’ve also included a couple of new products which you may not have seen before as well as some fairly recent purchases. Here’s what I loved most over the month of June:

Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer: One of the products I haven’t shared with you before is my Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer (in Soft Beige). I’m not sure what persuaded me to buy this concealer but I’m glad I did. I primarily use it to cover the dark circles under my eyes as it works magic on making me look less zombi-fied. What I’ve enjoyed most about this concealer is that it’s super creamy, has a subtle brightening effect and it doesn’t cake or crease. It’s a great dupe for NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in my opinion, minus the price tag of course.

Chanel-Perfection-Lumiere-VelvetShisedo Shimmering Cream Shadows: Even though I picked these up relatively late in the month they’ve quickly become my go-to cream shadow. I’ve literally used these every day since I picked them up, no joke. To say I’m obsessed it a bit of an understatement (I’ve already picked up a third shade, which I will share in an upcoming post). There’s so much to love about these shadows; the texture is amazing, they super lightweight and easy to apply and the formulation is long lasting and doesn’t crease. Hands down my favourite cream shadow to date.

Chanel Velvet Foundation: I’ve featured this foundation in my monthly favourites before but it’s just so damn good. I just love the finish of this foundation and it feels super lightweight, which means I never actually feel like I’m wearing a foundation. Although it’s a tad too dark for me right now (I’m a nice shade of sick at the moment) it’s just the perfect base for when I don’t want to look like I’m wearing a base. This is definitely one to try if you have oily-combination skin or just want to dabble with a velvet finish (lightweight) foundation.Chanel-Monte-CarloChanel Rouge Coco Shine (Monte Carlo): I’ve been a bit lazy on the lipstick front, crazy I know, especially for someone who claims to adore them more than any other beauty product. Monte Carlo has been my go-to everyday shade as it’s the perfect anytime, anywhere shade (a soft pink-red). It really perks my complexion, plus it’s super hydrating which is perfect for the cold windy days we’ve been experiencing lately.AntipodesAntipodes Brightening Powder: I’ve recently retired my Benefit Agent Zero Shine Powder, which I was on the fence with but wanted to use up. In summation I was really amazed that i got through the little pot so quickly. Then I recalled how much product was actually in the pot (7 measly grams! Yes I said 7 gm, for $44 AUD! That’s highway robbery Benefit). I digress. Back to the Antipodes Brightening powder. I’ve really enjoyed using this product when I’ve needed a little powder to finish my look. In the past I’ve mentioned that I’m not a huge powder wearer in the past however I’ve also said there is always a time and place. Despite my combination skin, this powder really imparts a lovely sheen that radiates healthy happy skin. It doesn’t cake or look heavy either.

What were some of your monthly beauty (or non-beauty) favourites? Did any of mine make your list?

All content ยฉ 2014 splishsplasch

42 thoughts on “June 2014 Beauty Favourites

  1. I feel like I’ve been hearing about Antipodes lately… where on earth can you purchase their products? Is it a new brand or am I just living under a rock? HA.

    What day is your birthday?! Happy almost/early/belated bday:)!
    -Gillian

  2. A nice roundup! Since you’re a fan of the Rimmel concealer, might I suggest trying out the Rimmel Stay Matte powder? It’s very cheap (only about $4.50 USD!) but effective, especially if you’re just going for a translucent powder like I do.

    • Hey Alina – thank you! I used to own the Stay Matte Powder but for some reason I didn’t ‘love’ it. On the flip side I can see why so many people love it. I think it just comes down to me not being a powder fan in general. I can’t believe it comes in under a fiver in the states!!!

      • No worries, I totally understand. It’s not the best powder out there for sure, but powder is such a boring product and I’d rather spend my money on fancy eyeshadows and such haha. Plus the Rimmel powder is slightly perfumed. I don’t notice it after a week or so of using it, but I can see how that would be annoying.

      • Thanks for your suggestions and keep them coming. I always appreciate them. What works for some doesn’t necessarily work for others… that’s just how it goes, and I’m alright with that ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’ve always been a bit wary of the whole Rimmel Wake Me Up line since I realized that the foundation has glitter in it (fine for many it seems but I can’t stand ittt!). Is there any shimmer in the concealer?

    • Really? Wow! I steer clear of anything with glitter in it (aside from the occasional eye product). I haven’t noticed any glitter/Shimmer at all but I’m slightly concerned now. Hang on…. just checked and nope, no glitter/shimmer ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh booh to no Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet – I’m sure you’ll cross paths with it eventually. Hopefully you get around to doing your June favourites. I’d love to see what made the cut ๐Ÿ™‚ x

    • Hey Rebecca, It’s nice to hear Rimmel getting some concealer love. It’s such a a good one and I will definitely repurchase it. The Antipodes brightening powder is awesome but they also have tinted versions, which are also really nice. I’m not really a powder girl but there’s some kind of magic going on with this formula. What’s your go to powder if you don’t mind me asking? xx

  4. Lovely favorites! โค
    OMG 7gr for 44$! Now I understand why Benefit gets that much backlash with their quantity/price rates! I think a while ago they revamped their blusher boxes and decreased the quantity of powder inside while stepping up the price. (I read something somewhere). ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
    Speaking of Chanel, I'm very much craving Malice blusher right now. Should I? ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Thanks love. I know (regarding Benefit!) – I donโ€™t think I will be rushing out to buy any of their products. Iโ€™d rather spend my money on Chanel, Burberry, Dior to name a few, where youโ€™re at last getting product. Benefit are way too overpriced in my opinion. Donโ€™t even get me started :p

      In regards to Malice – YES – run donโ€™t walk! Malice is everything Iโ€™d hoped NARS Orgasm wold be, but better. Itโ€™s a more sophisticated/timeless shade thatโ€™s both cool and warm at the same time and it looks good on everyone. There is some shimmer but itโ€™s not chunky plus it looks amazing with bronzer. Itโ€™s such a great shade – my favourite in this colour harmony. How can you go wrong with Chanel, lol. Are you thinking of getting it for the wedding? xx

  5. That Antipodes powder sounds wonderful. Is it like a translucent setting powder or a highlighting powder or a bit of both? Thanks for the wonderful favorites. Your pictures are beautiful.

    • Hey lovely – thanks for your comment and compliment:) The Antipodes Powder is a brightening finishing powder, although funnily enough it can also work as a subtle highlight (and I mean very subtle) if placed strategically as it’s quite brightening ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m really loving it. I have dark circles too so I’m feeling ya. This one is great for everyday but if my circles are really noticeable I still need a corrector. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. My perfection lumiere velvet is also a shade too dark for me now, but I’ve been mixing it with equal parts of le Blanc and it creates the perfect shade match! It might be something to try ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

