May 2014 Beauty Favourites

May-2014-Beauty-Favourites-1 Ah, here we are again. Monthly beauty favourites. If I’m honest I’ve been on a bit of a beauty hiatus over the past month. I’ve been all about the 5 minute face; if its not on in 5, it’s just not on at all.  With such little time for makeup my favourites have included easy to apply, fuss free items. With that being said it’s no surprise that my favourite base of the year – Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet features again, second month running; it’s just so damn good and absolutely foolproof. I don’t even have to go heavy with concealer as t covers imperfections really well. When I pair it with my  Laura Mercier Primer (another favourite) it’s lasts and lasts throughout the day. The Primer is one of those products that came out of left field to be honest. I didn’t think I’d like it as much as I do, but time after time it continues to impress me. While I don’t use it every day, on the days that I do use it, it keeps shine at bay and means that my powder and blush stays on a lot longer too. Speaking of blush I’ve really enjoyed my mini sample of Hot Mama by The Balm. I’ve loved it so much that I’ve hit pan and while I’m not sure whether or not I’ll upsize, I adore the colour and subtle finish nevertheless.May-2014-Beauty-Favourites-3A few posts back i also featured my new Antipodes Skin Brightening Powder – it’s fantastic by the way.  I’ve never been a fan of powders, but this one doesn’t feel cakey or heavy and it’s perfect for setting my base. I tend to use it with my Diorskin Nude BB cream rather than over my Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet. I feel it works best over a more dewy finish rather than a semi-matte, like the Chanel option.

Onto lips and while I love sharing my infatuation with anything bright, this month I’ve toned things down a notch or three. To be honest I’ve been really strapped for time, so my makeup routine has been quite minimal over the past month. Half the time I’ve just worn a balm, but on the days I’ve wanted some colour I’ve opted for my Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain in Honey. It’s just an easy throw on colour when I haven’t got time to think about coordinating my makeup (it just goes with everything). For the most part I’ve also kept things pretty simple on the eyes too. A quick slap of Rimmel Scandaleyes in Rich Russet over my lids and I’m good to go. Unfortunately the liquid shadow has had a bit of a beating, largely due to my over zealous use, meaning I’m almost all out of product. To make matters worse, I picked this up last year when I was traveling abroad and unfortunately it’s not available in Australia *sob*. If you love an easy to apply, one step eye product, get your hands on this baby. I believe there are a few shades in the collection, Rich Russet just so happens to be my favourite.May-2014-Beauty-Favourites-2Finally, my saving grace and product of the month has been my Kiehl’s Ultimate Strengthening Hand Salve. My hands have been feeling really dry and this stuff has been working overtime in performing miracles. If you need a really good hand cream that nourishes like nothing else, you have to try this one. It’s my favourite hand cream of all time.

And there you have it – my monthly favourites! Admittedly they’re were a whole bunch of other products I could have included but these happened to be the ones I reached for most. Thanks for sticking around to the end; I know these long posts are a bit of a chore to read.

Let me know what your favourite products were over the month of May. Monthly favourites happen to be some of my favourite posts to read so be sure to comment and/or add a link to your post. Happy June everybody!

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

5 thoughts on “May 2014 Beauty Favourites

Leave a Reply

