Antipodes Translucent Skin-Brightening Mineral Finishing Powder

Antipodes-Translucent-Brightening-PowderSoft Focus seems to be all the rage these days, and I for one, am up for the party. One of the newest contenders to release a ‘soft focus’ product is Antipodes, who recently launched their lightweight Translucent Skin-Brightening Mineral Finishing Powder, which is aimed at bluring lines and giveing skin an airbrushed finish.

So far I’m really impressed, and that’s big considering I’m not a huge powder advocate. Generally I steer clear of powders, especially the ones thathave that cakey/heavy look about them. The Mineral Finishing Powder is so lightweight making it a non-issue plus it doesn’t settle into any of my fine lines or pores. Also, as I mentioned earlier, the soft focus effect, reflects light in all the right places.

While I didn’t pick up the recommended kabuki brush there is one for purchase. At the moment I’m using my Bare Minerals brush but ideally I’d prefer something a little softer, more densly packed (something like a kaubuki brush, funnily enough). I simply apply the powder in circular motions around my face pretty sparingly and I’m good to go.Antipodes-Translucent-Brightening-Powder-2So I’ve noticed a few things I really like about this powder. Firstly it minimises shine by absorbing oil, making my pores look smaller and my skin more refined. I love the translucent matte finish and even after a few hours of wear, the powder doesn’t look like a greasy mess. Rather it imparts a lovely sheen or radiance if you will. On super close inspection the powder does have a pearlised finish but it’s almost undetectable and doesn’t look garish at all. I normally steer clear of anything with obtrusive sparkle or glitter but this just gives a nice natural sheen to the skin.

I have combination-oily skin and we all know that oily skin and enlarged pores tend to go hand-in hand. While nothing is going to shrink my pores this powder does in fact minimise them and makes them less obvious. I love using it with my L’Oreal Magical blur (in conjunction with my base of choice; normally Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet).

Antipodes-Translucent-Brightening-Powder-4

The powder contains Vinanza Performance Plus, a revolutionary antioxidant extract from sauvignon blanc grape seeds. This antioxidant extract acts as anti aging element. Another key ingredient is the superfruit kiwifruit. It lightens the skin and reduces redness, age spots and freckling. I’m not sure how this works in a power product but it targets my personal concerns so there are no complaints from me.

I’m really intrigued my the new makeup line released by Antipodes particularly the mineral foundations (hello there) and lipsticks (I want all of them). Have any of you tried anything from the new range? Please share in the comments below. I’m itching to get my hands on some more Antipodes.

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

8 thoughts on “Antipodes Translucent Skin-Brightening Mineral Finishing Powder

  1. Oooo this powder looks good! Antipodes has really intrigued me lately (especially with their body lotions and oils) but so far I’ve only gotten my paws on their antioxidant toner, which is lovely! Did you buy your powder directly from their website or from Priceline?

    • You know it really is! I’m really loving it. I purchased the powder at my local DJ’s. I know Priceline stock Antipodes but they don’t have the new range, or at least they didn’t when I was last there. Antipodes have also released 4 gorgeous mineral foundations but at the time I couldn’t decide on a shade. My boyfriend (bless him) was trying to help but I’m not sure he could see the variance in shades, lol.

  2. First time I hear about Antipodes! This powder looks great, I bet I could use a bit (or a lot) of soft focus on my skin! Right now I’m using the Prep +Prime CC powder by MAC as a finishing powder and it works for me; have you tried those? Anyway I love that this one has good for you ingredients and a satiny finish. 😊

    • Hehe, you’re funny, lol 🙂 I like to use a bit or a lot too 😉 In regards to MAC, are you talking about those colour corrector powders? If yes, I don’t think they’re available here. I haven’t seen them but I might be wrong. I had my heart on getting it after I commented on one of your posts, but still nothing – sad panda 😦 On a positive note, I love this powder and the ingredients are good as you said 🙂 The mineral foundation powders look and feel amazing too 🙂

      • The MAC powders are definitely good in my opinion (I’m considering using it for my wedding ( *hyperventilates*) but as I get older -booh- I want my cosmetics to actually work for my skin and improve it rather than just sit on top of it. That’s why I appreciate the good for you ingredients!
        Oh don’t forget you can always ask me to buy you products that are not available there, if you don’t feel like Ebay and such.😊
        I can ship you some currywurst as well hahah!

Leave a Reply

