Rimmel Mini Haul

Rimmel-Haul-1One of my favourite drugstore/high street brands is London’s own – Rimmel. The brand offers great quality products, features the latest trend colours and is reasonably priced. I recently picked up a few things from my local Chemist Warehouse. I was actually there with my boyfriend Dylan, who was on a mission to put together an Emergency Kit. To cut a long story short, Dylan burnt his hand the night before and we didn’t have a kit handy. It’s always been on our agenda to organise one, but unfortunately it took a mishap to make it a priority. Anyway… I’m sure you’ve all seen the contents of an at home emergency kit, so let me share the beauty bits and bobs I picked up instead.

Rimmel-Haul-4Rimmel Moisture Renew Lipstick in In Love With Ginger: I love my brights but if there’s one shade that eludes me it’s gotta be orange. While I love the shade on others I’m just not sure how I feel about it on myself. With that being said I was drawn to Rimmel’s In love with Ginger, mostly because it leans a more red but also because it’s an inexpensive option, meaning I was prepared to take a gamble. So far I’m loving the shade and if you’re an orange noob like me give it a whirl, it’s surprisingly lovely.  In terms of pigmentation it’s really strong and applies nicely, although I prefer my lipsticks to be more matte. I usually blot, reapply and blot again to mattify the formula. Speaking of formula it’s relatively moisturising but does cling to my dry patches. The staying power isn’t the best either and I find it bleeds more than any other lipstick I own but that’s not a huge concern for me personally, as I don’t mind reapplying throughout the day and using a liner. The shade is perfect for layering (if you’re after the intensity) or can be applied lightly for a nice subtle stain, so it’s quite versatile in that respect.

Rimmel-Haul-2Rimmel Salon Pro Oh Mr Darcy and Hip Hop Nail polish: I’ve been itching to get my hands on Oh Mr Darcy for what felt like forever. I was all over it when I read Anna’s post in which she said it was comparable to Chanel’s Frenzy. I’m not one to splash out on expensive nail polishes (mostly because my talons suck and therefore aren’t deserving) but also because I think drugstore versions are equally as good. I’ve tried the Salon Pro formula before (see my post on Chic and Cheerful ) so I also picked up Hip Hop, a sizzling coral tinged red. When it comes to formulation and colour range Rimmel doesn’t disappoint. Not only does the colour last for ages but it chips resistant and cheap as chips. I seldom sway from these sorts of shades so I was happy when I picked these up for just $5 each – total bargain!

Rimmel-Haul-3Rimmel Professional Eyebrow Pencil: Unfortunately this pencil is the wrong shade for me. It’s far too warm. It’s such a shame as it’s nice and firm allowing it to deliver precise lines, which I really like. It doesn’t smear, smudge or melt, which is also a bonus if you live in a hot climate like I do. I’m going to try and make it work somehow – not sure how, but I will. I’ll report back.

If you’re a Rimmel lover and reside in Australia I highly recommend hitting up Chemist Warehouse. Spend upwards of $20 on Rimmel branded products and you receive a Rimmel gift set (valued at $41.85). The gift set includes a Scandaleyes Lycra Flex Mascara in Black, a Salon Pro Nail Enamel in Sorbet Grape and a Rimmel Apocalips in Nova, none of which I’ve tried yet. Let me know if you’d like to see a review. Pretty awesome deal so get in quick if you’re after something form Rimmel.

What are some of your Rimmel favourites? I’m keen to try some of the mono eye shadows next or maybe the Scandaleyes Eye Shadow Sticks.

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

10 thoughts on “Rimmel Mini Haul

  1. I love how you picked up some makeup during a trip to buy medical supplies 😛 I love shopping at the chemist oddly enough… And yay for the orange red shade! 😀 I haven’t tried this trick myself, but apparently to mattify a lipstick, you can lightly dust your lips with some translucent powder (on top of lipstick) and then rub your lips together to make it less visable. Sounds like a legit trick to try!

    • I know – the cheek right? My boyfriend (Dylan) was all over the medical stuff, so I slipped away unnoticed, lol 🙂 I agree Chemists are surprisingly good to shop at 🙂 Thanks for the tip. I’s heard about the trick somewhere too but haven’t tried it either.

  2. I’ve heard such good things about that lipstick shade, and I do think that orange lipstick suits me, surprisingly. But the drugstore by my apartment only stocks the Kate Moss lipsticks from Rimmel! Such a shame. The Revlon lip butter in “candy apple” will have to do for now 🙂

    • Oh that’s a bummer about the lipstick … they’re fairly new here so maybe it’s just a matter of time. Candy Apple sounds gorgeous. I need to swatch that one for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

