Hand on heart: the best handcream ever

Kiehls-Hand-SalveIt’s been a while between posts, but rather than talk about my absence (I will save that for another time) I thought I’d get back into the swing of things. Today I wanted to share with you, my hand on heart favourite hand cream of all time – Keihl’s Ultimate Hand Salve. I admit, I’ve flirted with others but I always keep going back to my beloved Hand Salve.

As the months start to cool down, my hands tend to be at their driest – enter Keihl’s Hand Salve. Its has a lovely thick consistency that doesn’t feel greasy or leave any residue plus it’s super absorbent and protects and repairs while I go about doing my thing. I’m not the most patient person so I detest gloopy hand creams that take forever to absorb – with the Kheil’s it’s a non-issue. I don’t have to constantly reapply the hand cream either. Even after washing, my hands feel moisturised and hydrated hours after application.
Kiehls-Hand-Salve-1
Keihl’s claim that the cream contains a blend of ingredients that allow the skin to draw and absorb water from the air, which in turn forms a glove like barrier on the hands. I spend a lot of  time indoors with artificial heating/cooling which I find extremely drying. In fact my skin feels the driest when I’m at work so I make sure I always have a tube tucked away in my draw. Speaking of work, this is the perfect cream if you work in a fragrance-free setting as the scent is a very light herbal scent that’s almost undetectable. I haven’t had anyone complaints about it so I think it’s pretty neutral and inoffensive.

If you’re in need of an intensive hydrating and moisturising hand cream I recommend giving this one a go. At $36 for the 150ml tube (or $24 for 75m) it ain’t exactly cheap but it’s so worth it if you happen to have super dry reptilian hands. I’ll  keep repurchasing it just because it’s so damn good.

Kiehls-Hand-Salve-2Have you tried Keihl’s Ultimate Hand Salve?  If not, what’s your go-to hand cream for dry hands?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

18 thoughts on “Hand on heart: the best handcream ever

  1. Ooooo I like the sound of this! My biggest ‘issue’ with hand creams is the constant reapplication after washing hands etc. because they just tend to ‘disappear’. I am liking my Nuxe honey hand cream atm but I might have to pick this one up once winter really kicks in! You can get the big tube from the states here for about $23.00 Aus dollars ($22 in US) > http://www.kissandmakeupny.com/kibsab1.html However, they have flat rate world shipping for $10, so maybe it’s not worth getting it on it’s own, but it would work out cheaper with some other goodies (or if you buy a couple at a time!).

    • I completely forgot that Kissanamakeupny stock Keihl’s – thanks so much for reminding me. $10 shipping is great, especially if you’re purchasing multiple items 🙂 I will definitely add it to the cart next time. As for the Nuxe hand cream, I’ve not tried it… I’m hoping its available at Priceline so I can sample it 🙂

  2. my HG hand cream is Caudalie Hand and Nail Cream, which has replaced my other all-time fave – the L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream. the Caudalie is the only one I have tried so far that doesn’t leave that greasy feeling on my hands, so I can easily use it during the summer. I will definitely try Kiehl’s products asap 🙂 xx

    • Would you believe I haven’t tried the Caudalie hand cream? I was going to pick it up on a whim, but didn’t in the end. I wish I had now. The L’Occitane hand creams are great too – my fav is the Cherry Blossom scent 🙂

  3. Ohh looks lovely! I’ve been addicted to The Body Shop Hemp Hand Protector – doesn’t smell the greatest but does amazing things for hands. I’m desperate to try some Kiehls stuff!

    • Totally agree! I love the Hemp Hand Protector too – thanks for reminding me about it 🙂 I first bought a tube for my boyfriend and funnily enough ended up using it more than he did, lol. I actually really like the scent, sort of musky, sort of herb-y…. mmm 🙂

  4. I am definitely in need of this. I’ve had dry skin on one finger for three weeks and tonight I did a Clarins hydrating mask and gentle exfoliant then hydra quench cream (like a crazy person) and IT’S STILL DRY. Coconut oil isn’t even cutting it! I’ll check it out when I’m in town next xx

    • Oh no – your poor finger. I love the Keihl’s hand salve and would recommend it as a hand cream but I’m thinking maybe you’ve got a chemical burn of sorts, or contact dermatitis. I don’t know much about either but you may need something more medicinal to treat it? I hope it gets better soon. It’s a shame the coconut oil didn’t work – that stuff works on almost everything 🙂 Hope you’ve been well lovely! xx

    • Hi Marci 🙂 It’s a great hand cream – my absolute fav. Nothing works as well. Thank you for the lovely feedback too. I prefer minimal clean layouts as well and while I don’t have much control over the theme as it stands I’m pretty happy with it. Having said that I am looking to tweak things soon. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  5. Why hello again! Now that spring is finally starting in Chicago, my hands are thankfully not as dry as they were a month ago. I’ve never tried anything from Kiehl’s, but I always hear good things about them so I’ll keep this hand cream in mind for next winter. I did have a mini tube of Philosophy’s “Hands of Hope” which was amazing! Sadly, I used it up in a matter of weeks.

    • Hello, hello 🙂 It’s been a while, hey? Hope you’ve been well. We had a cold snap over the weekend and my hands were looking a little worse for wear (which prompted the post). Give the Keihl’s hand cream a try next winter. It’s super lovely and works. I’ve not tried Hands of Hope but I’ll keep an eye out for it next time I’m out and about 🙂

  6. I haven’t tried the Kiehl’s, my old favorite is L’Occitane, wich comes in a very pretty tube and it’s available in many flavours ( I love cherry blossom! ) 😀

Leave a Reply

