April 2014 Beauty Favourites

high-rotationIt’s monthly favourites time –  yay! I thought I’d share a somewhat large selection of standout products that I’ve been loving for the month of April. Unfortunately, I haven’t included any skincare products, which is unusual, but that’s just how it goes sometimes. Focus of the month seems to be on Chanel products which I have been loving a lot lately. You may also notice a few repeat contenders. Hope you enjoy the post and let me know if some of the following featured in your favourites.

Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet: My go to foundation at the moment. I love the velvety texture and how weightless it feels on my skin. It’s as if I’m not wearing anything at all. I like to pair it with my Chanel Le Blanc de Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base just to add some luminosity around the highpoints of my face. I recently did a review on this foundation so if you’re interested in reading more, check it out.

Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow: I dragged this powder out of my draws a couple of weeks back because it wasn’t getting enough love, or rather I was saving it for special occasions (silly I know). I have the shade 30, which I like to use as a bronzer. The powder imparts a lovely warm glow that looks more natural and not orange.

Dior Overcurl Mascara: My favourite luxury brand mascara to date. I can’t say it’s my favourite of all time but I can say I love how it lengthens and curls my lashes. The black is a very deep, rich black that really opens up my eyes.

NARS Dolce Vita: When I’m going for a bolder eye look this is the lipstick I go for. It’s my perfectly demure, fail safe nude. I’m going to go out on a limb and say it’s a universally flattering shade as it’s quite sheer. I love how creamy and moisturising it feels but this is one you’ll need to keep reapplying – just saying.

Chanel Le Blanc de Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base: I love love love this base. It’s by far my favourite product of the year. Not only is it a gorgeous primer it’s also (as the name would suggest) a brilliant illuminating base, whether worn under a foundation or alone. I’ve mentioned this product so many times so if you’re interested in reading more please head over to my review. This is HG stuff, right here – at least for me it is.

Lush Bubblegum Lip Scrub: I featured this some weeks back in my lipstick post and it’s been my chapped lip saviour. My love of bright matte lipsticks means I really need to exfoliate. This does the trick and it smells and taste yummy to boot. You really don’t need to buy this product as it’s super easy to make – but if you’re lazy like me, this is a great, inexpensive exfoliator.

Eyeko Skinnu Liner: I mentioned I was hugely disappointed with how quickly these liners dry-out but with that being said I’ve used this baby, non stop since I bought it. I leave it stored tip side down which helps tip whatever ink is left, down to the nib. So disappointed that such a lovely product dries up so quickly as it’s a lovely liner otherwise.

Laura Mercier Foundation Primer: Never in a million years did I think i’d warm to non-silicone primers but this one is gorgeous! Despite the negative reviews I’ve found it works beautifully on my combination skin. It doesn’t feel slippy or sticky, nor does it leave an oily residue.

Real Technique Blush Brush: Such a staple brush on my opinion however I tend to use it to apply setting and finishing powders instead of blush. I love the sturdy handle and the bristles feel so soft and gentle on my skin – pity it’s too big for blush. Great quality brush at a reasonable price.

The Balm Hot Mama Blush: Another freebie I received in a promotional bag and surprisingly my first venture into ‘The Balm’ territory.  Hot Mama is a beautiful light peach-pink blush that reminds me of NARS Orgasm, only better. The blush almost negates the need for a highlighter because of the fine shimmer. My main gripe with NARS Orgaasm is that the sparkles are chunky however the sparkle in Hot mama is far less noticeable. It’s  a lovely shade for when I don’t want to look like I’m wearing a blush but need to add some warmth to my face. The only thing I’m not a fan of is the cardboard packaging.

What were some of your monthly favourites?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

25 thoughts on “April 2014 Beauty Favourites

    • Thanks so much Judy! It was a biggie this time. So glad you like the RT blush brush too 🙂 I’m tempted to try the new retractable brushes. Have you given them a whirl yet?

      Hope to see a favourites post from you too lovely 🙂 Have a fab day!

  1. What a great selection of products! Loving all of your Chanel goodies 😉 I recently received the Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base and I can’t wait to try it out! *does happy dance* I have one real techniques brush (the finish/perfected setting brush) and I’m so impressed by the quality of it, that i think I might invest in a few more… Can’t believe it’s almost May! So daunting!

    • I know! May means it’s almost mid-year and mid-year means it’s almost my birthday, argh! Honestly (without sounding like a broken record) where is the time going?

      So happy to hear you received the Chanel Illuminating Base – lucky you! You’ll have to let me know what you think. As for the RT brushes I think they’re great. I’ve been tempted to try the retractable ones but have held off so far.

      Hope you had a lovely long weekend!

  2. Great post! Ive been so much good things about the chanel perfection velvet, ill definitely check it out now. Actually, im going to check out all the products you posted about. Thank you! 😊

  3. The Blanc de Chanel and perfection lumiere velvet are also favourites of mine this month! But I decided to leave them for my May Favs post because I know I will love them just as much in a month’s time. The real techniques blush brush is also a favourite of mine, I actually want to order another one.

    • They’re hard not to love 🙂 and I’m glad you picked up the Velvet foundation. I had a feeling you’d like it. There’s really nothing quite like it. As for brushes, I’m thinking of trying the retractables but we’ll see. Trying to save 🙂 Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. Awesome blog post! I’m gutted I won’t be able to try out Chanel Velvet as they don’t have my shade but I can imagine the quality of the foundation. I will definitely try the lip scrub and the Dior mascara 🙂

    • Thanks Vanessa 🙂 That’s a shame about the Chanel Velvet foundation. My mind boggles why shade ranges (across the board) aren’t more extensive. Let me know how you find the lip scrub a mascara 🙂

  5. Ahh every time you mention that Chanel velvet foundation I crave it a little bit more… As for me, I really like the Dolce & Gabbana Passion Eyes mascara. It has a small, curved wand that makes application very easy. Other April favorites would be the Stila liquid eyeliner & the Stila kitten eyeshadow. 🙂

    • Thanks for sharing your favourites Alina 🙂 I’m still kicking myself for not picking up the Stila liquid liner when I had the chance. It’s definitely on my wish list now. As for the Kitten eyeshadow, I’ve heard everyone and their mum rave about it – seems like a pretty popular and universally flattering shade 🙂 Another one to swatch next time I’m in store 🙂

  6. Great products! I need to try out more Chanel products. I am using the Illuminating base at the minute and I love it! Love the Real Techniques blush brush 🙂 xx

    • Chanel products are so luxe aren’t they? I’m glad you love the illuminating base – it seems to be pretty popular across the board. I’d say it’s one of my favourite purchases of 2014 (so far). 🙂 x

      • Yes the are just so luxe and gorgeous 🙂 I really want to try out more of their products as I think they may be worth the price tag if they compare to the illuminating base 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

