Weekend beauty bag

weekend-away-1Yay…. the weekend is near and I ‘m a wee bit excited. In case you don’t reside in Australia ( or New Zealand) we’re actually having another long weekend, this time to commemorate the ANZAC’s. What this means is, Friday is a public holiday. After my failed attempt at enjoying the Easter long weekend (thank you stomach bug and allergies), to say I’m excited about the next few days is an understatement.

Come 5pm this afternoon (Thursday 24th April) I’m officially signing out (from my day job) and getting ready for the weekend. Well there is one slight problem (that additional freelance design job that I need to get done before I leave) but other than that it’s almost Rancho Relaxo time – yes we’re heading away on our own mountain adventure (not too dissimilar to the Sprinfield kind) except we have our own secluded little cabin. Should be fun.

weekend-away-2Despite our early departure tomorrow morning I haven’t actually packed anything, except funnily enough, my weekend makeup bag. I’m actually trying to limit what I’m taking because we’re probably going to be doing a lot of outdoorsy stuff  (the last thing I want is a full face of makeup). Everything you see in these pics fits in that little Benefit makeup bag – good on me!

I’ve included the usual culprits – my favourite foundation at the moment (Chanel Perfection Lumiere Velvet) and base (Chanel Le Blanc Sheer Illiminating Base), a couple of lip products (Chanel L’Amoureuse, NARS Dolce Vita & Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfector in Rosewood Shimmer) some mascara (Dior Overcurl), liner (Eyeko Skinny liner in Black) my trusty Chanel’s Illusion d’Ombré (in Diapason) and a couple of blushes (Dior Rosy Glow and the Balm Hot Mama). I’ve added some extra bits as well (Maybelline brow pencil (in Soft Brown), Laura Mercier primer, Chanel Les Beiges powder, La Roche-Posay Effaclar Mat moisturiser and Clinique Take the Day Off Cleansing Oil) but haven’t included any skincare yet. I’m thinking I might take some samples I have lying around. They’re great for these sorts of mini trips, but only if you’re skin is pretty resilient. Last ting you want is a breakout/reaction on your weekend away. Luckily I have my dads skin, so usually I don’t have any problems.

I’m pretty chuffed with my selection of bits and bobs as I usually over-pack. In the past it’s been a real problem but I found I’m getting better with experience.

Let me know what your essentials are for a weekend away. Do you over-pack or keep it simple?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

14 thoughts on “Weekend beauty bag

  1. What a perfect selection of goodies! I’m also really liking your toiletry bag (I love toiletry and bath bags a little tooo much)! I wish I was going away this weekend but alas! I’m sure you will finally have a great time 🙂 We’re are two heading off to? 🙂

    • Thanks lovely:) If Mary Poppins had a makeup bag, I think it would be this one – I honestly don’t know how I fit all of that in there 🙂 It got it as a gwp from Benefit a few months back. As for the weekend away, we’re heading to the Border Ranges (specifically to Queen Mary Falls, via Murwillumbah/NNSW). I’m excited! I’ll try and put some pics up either here or my instagram. Enjoy your long weekend! x

Leave a Reply

