Testing, testing …

small-fixation-1I’m a sucker for product samples mostly because  I get to test products in the comfort of my own home for free. It’s pretty much a win-win situation. While it’d be nice to share all the latest beauty releases as they launch’s is just not feasible. Everything you see on this blog, is paid for using my own money – I’m not complaining, I’m just saying. So when I’m able to score some samples I’m all like yes please!

Samples really influence how I feel about a product and whether or not I go on to make a purchase. I see them as money savers. I rarely buy things online if I haven’t sampled a product whether it be at home or in store. I really encourage all of you to ask for samples where possible –  there’s nothing quite like testing a product for yourself. With that being said, I’ve bundled a few that I’ve accumulated over the past few months. I thought it might be fun to share my first impressions, so here goes:

Clinique Repairwear Uplifting Cream : White it’s not a particularly heavy cream it does feel tacky on first contact. I really can’t comment regarding the uplifting effects, but it does tighten my skin so it’s definitely doing something. I probably would purchase a full size jar- it just didn’t have that ‘wow’ factor, plus it’s pricey.

Khiels Powerful Wrinkle & Pore Reducing Cream: First thing I noticed was how thick and luxurious this cream felt – it’s really quite something. It absorbs into the skin quickly and made my skin feel smooth and plump. With long term use I’d be better able to gauge whether or not this cream does in fact reduce wrinkles and pores – i doubt it, but I’ll give it the benefit of the doubt.

Clinique Repairwear Laser Focus: I wasn’t overly impressed but then again I’m super picky when it comes to serum type formulations. Laser Focus feels very light on application and absorbs quickly although I’m just not a fan of the texture. Supposedly it’s meant to refine the skin. While I haven’t noticed any textural improvements yet I suspect that you’d need to use the serum for a while to reap the benefits. Given the fact that I don’t like the texture I’m probably wouldn’t purchase a full size bottle.

small-fixation-2

Chanel Demaquillant Yeus Intense: I love a good biphase makeup remover and this one by Chanel is exceptionally good. In fact, it might have knocked Lancome’s Bi-Facil eye makeup remover off it’s perch. What I love most about this makeup remover is that it’s so easy to use and feels very gentle on the skin. It’s effective, non- greasy and takes off even the most stubborn cream shadows/waterproof mascaras. Unfortunately it’s pricey, but boy is it lovely.

Chanel Sublimage La Creme: Chanel samples are amongst my favourites – is it wrong to get a little excited? Surely not. My tiny little sample of Sublimage has gone a long way and I’ve loved using every little bit of it. In real life it’s too expensive so for that reason alone I wouldn’t purchase it. While you don’t get a lot of product in the sample my skin definitely felt more nourished and hydrated. As far as dramatic improvements go (i.e skin regeneration)  it’s too early to say – mostly likely I won’t be able to comment as the sample is too small.

Chanel Inimitable Mascara: I was really surprised at how much I like this mascara, given it has a silicone brush. While it’s a lovely to use I have others I prefer over this one. From a price perspective this one’s up there. The formula is lovely and thick but if I’m honest, I think it’s better at lengthening than it is at volumizing. On the plus side it doesn’t dry or clump – in fact, it looks really nice and glossy on the lashes. Do I need it? Probably not. Do I like? You betcha!

What samples do you get excited about receiving?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

20 thoughts on “Testing, testing …

  1. Whoa girl, I would love me some Chanel samples. Unfortunately, I don’t really buy anything from them so I never get any. And GASP at the claim that it may beat the Lancome Bi-Facil. A bold claim indeed. That’s my favorite, even over Bioderma and Shiseido. You’ve come back into my good graces after the Benefit They’re Real snafu.. :):):)

    • Bold indeed, hehe – I love the Lancome Bi-Facial. It’s been a favourite for a long time and you know what? I’m going to agree and say I like it better than Bioderma (and I love Bioderma, so that’s saying something). I’m glad I’ve made up for my shenanigans last week, hehe:) Hope you’re well lovely 🙂 x

  2. Usually skincare, like I tried the hydra life from Dior, the Estee Lauder serum, and I still have the weekend from Chanel to try which I am really excited about!

  3. How do you actually get given/sent samples? I’m always wanting to try new products and brands that I’ve never tried before so i have more content for my blog, but I simply don’t have the money!

    • I don’t actually get given (or sent) samples for free. Normally they’re gifts with purchases, or on the odd occasion I might get a free sample when I inquire about a product. Don’t be afraid to ask for them, worst thing that happens is they say no. I like to believe it’s in their best interest to give them out:)

  4. I never get good samples at the stores, they always give me fragrances… Sometime men’s fragrances. Like, thank you so much, that’s so nice from you b*tch. Hahahah. :p

  5. I get excited about samples anytime I order from Sephora! But unfortunately I haven’t ever gotten any Chanel samples—Sephora only sells their fragrances, and I’m too intimidated to approach the makeup counter (though I would really, really like a sample of the new velvet foundation).

    • The velvet foundation is really lovely and fast becoming my favourite. If you get a chance, sample it at the counter. I always ask for a sample because I like to try products with what I already have at home. Usually I’ll get a sample but I find it depends on the sales assistant. From my experience Chanel are more generous with samples around launch periods but I’m not sure what the sample policy is like in different countries. If you do get around to getting a sample let me know what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

