Lipstick Spotlight: Chanel Rouge Allure L’Exuberante (#37)

Chanel-L'Exuberante-1 Oh look – another Chanel lipstick post (shock horror!). Today’s spotlight is on L’Exeuberance (*swoon*). I first stumbled upon this shade months ago but at the time resisted the urge to splurge as I was being a tad spendy. Fast forward a couple months and I now have this beauty in my hot little hands – BIG thanks to my dear sister who kindly gifted it to me.

L’Exuberance sits perfectly between a dark rose and bright fuchsia pink. It’s the perfect pick-me-up shade especially on those days I’m feeling a little ‘meh’. It manages to lift the sallowness out of my face making me look more alive chipper. I find these sorts of shades really suit my olive complexion, especially when I haven’t seen the sun days on end.

Described as “luminous matte”,
Described as “luminous matte”, Rouge Allure Velvet is enriched with ultra-thin mother of pearls, and is possibly the most moisturising and comfortable matte lipstick out there. – See more at: http://beautyswatch.com/lexuberante/#sthash.NlXvPVuW.dpuf

Chanel-L'Exuberante-2I’ve probably mentioned in my other posts that Rouge Allure Velvets yield rich colour. If you’ve seen bits of my lipstick collection (check out my lipstick tag post) you’ll see that I have a go bold or go home attitude about lipsticks – needless to say, L’Exeuberance doesn’t disappoint. If you’re after some serious wow factor, amp it up straight from the bullet or if you’re a little timid wear it as a sheer wash (or mixed with a balm underneath).

Chanel-L'Exuberante-4As I’ve said in many a post, the Rouge Allure Velvet line is extremely comfortable to wear and the most moisturising matte I’ve ever tried. I find the formula isn’t overly drying and actually feels quite creamy on my lips.

If you’re keen to see some of my other shades in this formulation check out the corresponding posts for La Diva (44), L’Amoureuse (47) and La Malicieuse (46).

What’s your favourite pick-me-up shade when you’re feeling a little ‘meh’?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

17 thoughts on “Lipstick Spotlight: Chanel Rouge Allure L’Exuberante (#37)

  1. I love the word chipper lol It encapsulates the feeling so well! And why o why must you do this to me!? That pink looks soooo lovely! I feel a few beauty bans coming on but I’ll put this on my wish list 🙂 I’m not sure if you have done something similar before, but perhaps you could do a post comparing the pinks (especially the Chanel shades)?

    • Haha… i love the word ‘chipper’ too! I’m so sorry about this post, lol. I almost didn’t put it up but I couldn’t help myself – it’s too pretty not to share. Lucky this was a gift otherwise I’d have some explaining to do (re last fortnights beauty ban). I haven’t done a comparative post yet but funny you should mention it. Hopefully I will have something up on my blog in the coming weeks… I’m thinking a brand/formula related lip/swatch fest – we’ll see 🙂 Thanks as always lovely!

  2. I just got my first Velvet lipstick a few day ago! 🙂 #39. I’m not even sure why I decided to swatch it, since the plastic part of the sample on the stand looked just boring brown. But omg, it’s the most gorgeous true red on me (every other red I’ve tried so far, aside from those that are clearly orange, lean way too pink on me). It took a bit of hunting to find one that didn’t have one month left before shelf life expiration date. I got more than enough “Is this girl nuts??” looks from sale consultants when I was demanding to check the production codes on the boxes 😉 But I finally lucked out in one of the Sephoras, hehe.

    • Oh wow…. welcome to the club, hehe. Velvets are my favourite formula and La Somptueuse is a gorgeous, gorgeous shade. So happy to hear you found your perfect red… it’s a little exciting isn’t it? Just out of curiosity do you know what happens to the lipsticks when they pass their expiry. I’m strangely curious/fascinated. As for the odd looks from the sales consultants, who cares. You’re dropping some serious cash so you can be as choosy as you like. Enjoy lovely! I’m sure it looks gorgeous 🙂

      • Aww, thank you!! 🙂

        I think as long as they’ve been stored properly, nothing should happen to lipsticks even when they technically pass their shelf life. Although since they do dry out at some point, one has to wonder when does it start. I decided to dig my heels in this time, because 1 month, seriously? And every store I went to had them from exact same old batch or sold out. I was starting to wonder if it was a limited edition and I will just have to surrender and buy what’s available. Except in this last Sephora they had a fresh batch. They’re not allowed to sell anything that has past 36 months since production, so usually those that have less than 6 months left on them go on seasonal sale here (often at 50% off).

        What surprised me more is that most consultants didn’t even understand what was the production code or didn’t know where to look for it. Pretty sure at least a few thought I was some number-obsessed lunatic 😀

  3. You need this site then – http://checkcosmetic.net/ For some brands it’s easy to work out at least approximate production code, with others it’s more complicated. Like for example, with Chanel everything that starts with 6xxx will be quite “fresh”, made at most in 2013. Guerlain is super easy, their first code number is the last digit of the year it was made in. MAC is relatively simple too (last number is the last number of the year it was made in). But all the companies under L’Oreal (Maybelline, YSL, etc) are pain in the ass to calculate on the spot 😉 Although they all use same code system, so that’s a plus.

    I find those codes fascinating, it’s like solving a puzzle 😉 But you can tell, they don’t really want regular customers to navigate easily through them, hehe, otherwise they’d just print it there when was it actually made, instead of coding it.

    • Wow… you’re so resourceful – thanks so much! 🙂 I think all of what you’ve mentioned would make for a great post. I’m certain many of your readers would be interested to know about this – it’s all very interesting. You’ve definitely opened my eyes. I’m so glad I asked to begin with 🙂

Leave a Reply

