Beauty bans and old flames

old-flames-1So I’ve been on a self imposed buying ban for the past fortnight. I know a fortnight isn’t very long but I’m still on my eyeshadow buying ban so it feels like it’s been a lot longer than it has been. A ban break every now and then never hurt no one, especially my credit card.
old-flames-2If I’m honest my fortnight ban is almost over (ends tomorrow) and while I haven’t had anything new to blog about, the whole things has sort of gone unnoticed. I admit I’m not the most material person out there, in fact the less is more approach is a a rule I abide by pretty much all the time. I’d rather buy one fancy lipstick I really like then three cheaper ones that I probably won’t use. That’s just how I roll. The same rules apply to clothing and other innate objects. I just don’t like clutter, especially clutter I trick myself into thinking I like but really don’t.
old-flames-3With that being said I’ve decided to go through my current beauty stash and pull out some pieces that don’t get enough love. Last week I said I wanted to rotate my products more so here are a few bits I want to use more of over the coming weeks.

I adore all of the products you see in the pics but sometimes I think I’m just a little precious about them. Some of them I’ve neglected while others I keep saving for special occasions. I feel like this is such a silly mindset as every day should be a special occasion right? So with that being said these are going to get a lot more use a lot starting now.

old-flames-4
As a reference the products in the pics above include: Bobbi Brown Smokey Warm Eye Palette, Chanel Les Beiges Healthy Glow Sheer Colour (#30), (lipstick as they appear left-right in the pic above) YSL Rouge VolupteΒ  Shine in Rouge in Danger (#4), MACΒ  Vegas Volt, MAC Absolute Power, Smashbox Photo Op Under Eye brightener, YSL Touche Eclat Radiant Touch (shade 1 – Luminous Radiance).

What are your thoughts? Have you imposed a ban/break on spending?

All content Β© 2014 splishsplasch

21 thoughts on “Beauty bans and old flames

  1. I actually tried not to use my MAC-Angel lipstick beaucase I loved it so much when I got it. Haha :)) The Bobbi Brown palette looks lovely!

  2. I can feel one of these ‘bans’ coming on *sigh… But it’s definitely true that a ban can make you discover some old and awesome goodies that don’t get as much love as they should!

  3. Yes, in fact – at the moment I am on a one-month shopping ban, after spending far too much on new spring clothes in March! But now that the weather is getting warmer (finally!), I’m highly tempted to buy a nice CC cream… any advice or posts on that front?

    • Good on you! We’re going into autumn/winter here which means all the stores are getting their seasonal drops. I’m really holding back. Beauty products are a bit of a weakness though, especially lipsticks. As for CC creams I’ve only sampled a couple (I’ve had better luck with BB’s actually). Notable mentions: Bourjoise 123 Perfect CC cream, Chanel CC Cream and the Bobbi Brown CC Perfection. Hope that was helpful. Perhaps I should do a post πŸ™‚

  4. This is the first year that I put myself on a serious clothing/accessory/make-up budget. I find that when I have a smaller budget, I work a lot harder to really think through, “do I want this? Do I need this? Will I really use this?” and that I also work a lot harder to find more bang for my buck. Not sacrificing quality is tough on a budget, but totally doable. It’s hard to stay on budget a lot of weeks/months, but I do try! As a side note, I think the YSL lipstick is so gorgeous- even the lipstick tube is a work of art!

    • Good on you! I’m the same. I’ve made far too many silly purchases over the years so i’m really thinking things through and continually asking myself whether I need said item or not. Nine times out of ten I don’t, but beauty products (especially lipsticks) are my weakness. We live in such a disposable age and I kind of don’t want it to be that way. Thank you for the awesome comment as always πŸ™‚

  5. I would love to hear your thoughts on that Smashbox eye brightener! Good luck using up your stash! I feel exactly the same way about buying nice things vs. multiple cheap things. Plus they’re pretty :):):)

  6. Wow, you’ve got some lovely things to rediscover πŸ™‚ I always enjoy stash shopping – over the winter I pretty much whittled down my bath and body stash to nothing, it’s so satisfying! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

