Budget Buy: Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

Garnier-Micellar-water-1I’m pretty sure you’ve all heard of micellar waters by now and while the general consensus is that Bioderma Sensibio/Crealine H2O reigns supreme, I’ve found an amazing budget buy contender – Garnier’s Micellar Cleansing Water. Bioderma kicked off the trend years back and since then every brand and it’s dog has been trying to get a piece of the cake.

From what I gather if you live outside of France, the price of Bioderma products are massively inflated. If you can’t convince your bestie/partner/family member to lug back a sneaky souvenir (someone say 2x500ml twin pack) you’ll want to get your hands on this alternative.

I’ve been using it for over a month now so I think I’ve given it a good enough trial to warrant a big thumbs up. In my opinion Garnier’s Micellar Water is on par with Bioderma’s offering. I’ve tested a few micellar waters in my time (La Roche-Posay EFFACLAR Purifying Micellar WaterVichy Normaderm Micellar Solution and  Avène Micellar Lotion to name a few) and the Garnier option comes up trumps. In my opinion it does the same job as my Bioderma Sensibio/Crealine H2O at a fraction of the cost.

The product is super easy to use. I simply soak a cotton pad and swipe it across my face, concentrating on my eye area as this is where I have a few layers of makeup (eyeliner, mascara, etc). The product literally disintegrates makeup on contact. There’s no tugging or pulling involved and it doesn’t irritate my eyes, or skin. In addition is has no odour/scent.

I know this is a good’un because it’s the one I’d buy over and over again. Not only is it effective but it’s easy on the purse and comes in a big enough bottle that will last ages.

Kudos Garnier!

What are your thoughts on the battle of the micellar waters? Do you have a budget buy favourite? Please share in the comments below.

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

28 thoughts on “Budget Buy: Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water

  1. AHHHH. I’m dying to get my hands on this! I finally scored Bioderma, but now that I’ve tried it, I would much rather get this cheaper option for the future. Crossing my fingers that it comes to the states soon!

    As always, love your gorgeous photos 🙂
    Gillian

      • haha… actually Bioderma’s micellar water is so, so expensive. I bought 2x500ml bottles when i was in Paris last year. Here they are selling 1x250ml bottle for the same price – crazy! I’m glad Garnier has come to the rescue. My wallet is so much happier for it 🙂

  2. BTW hun, this is offtopic (sorry!) but I’ve been browsing some online stores and I’ve come across this Natio brand that I think is from Australia? Any thoughts? Would love to read your opinion ❤

    • No problems and not off topic at all 🙂 Yes, Natio is an Australian brand. They do a lot of natural/plant-based skincare and makeup. As with any brand there’s a lot of variation between the products and their effectiveness/quality. Overall I think it’s a good brand especially if you have skin sensitivities. The makeup products are well pigmented but they’re no urban decay. I have a few of their items which I like (mostly skincare) but having said that it’s a brand I wouldn’t run out to buy. Is there something specific you were looking at? I may be able to help you more 🙂 xx

      • Actually I just came across Natio online and I was curious about it, didn’t check out any products specifically. I see it’s a good but not outstanding brand… If the skincare is their strong asset I’ll pass for the moment, but I’ll keep it in mind. You were so helpful! Thank you for taking the time to answer ❤

  3. I heard very good reviews about this Garnier product!!! But few years ago I had a horrible allergy from one of their products so I guess I’m sticking with the Bioderma one though… quite afraid to try it out some of Garnier products again… =/

    • Oh no, that’s awful 😦 Yeah, maybe err on the side of caution. I have pretty resilient skin and rarely have a reaction. Bioderma’s micellar water is great, but if you’re on a budget Garnier’s version is just as good 🙂

  4. Pingback: Nuxe Micellar Cleansing Water - Venus Von

Leave a Reply

