The halo effect: Chanel – Le Blanc de Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base

Chanel-Le-Blanc-Illuminating-Base-1

Being the beauty enthusiast that I am it was just a matter of time before I got my mitts on beauty’s latest craze – the Illuminating base. It was Dior’s Glow Maximizer that initially peaked my interest having read countless (ahem) ‘glowing’ reviews. When I finally got around to sampling it, I wasn’t overly impressed. I knew of other brands that did something similar so I perused my local department store beauty hall and invariably did a whole lot of sampling. In the end it was Chanel’s Le Blanc de Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base that stole my heart. As soon as I’d sampled it’s sheer milky goodness I knew then and there that it was just a matter of time before that puppy came home with me.

Chanel-Le-Blanc-Illuminating-Base-3During my initial research I’d made an ad hoc mental note of what I was (and wasn’t) looking for in an illuminating base. I knew I wanted something that would brighten my skin (sans brash glitter – heaven forbid) and I knew I wanted a product I could mix with my foundation or wear alone. I also knew I wanted something that would shape and naturally sculpt my facial contours, rather than manipulate them, like traditional contouring and highlighting products do. I’m happy to say Le Blanc delivered on all counts, plus some.

I’m the first to admit that I don’t have the best skin in the world but what Le Blanc de Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base manages to do is amplify my skins natural radiance and deflect the appearance of some of the unevenness on my face. The white liquid is a little daunting at first but I assure you it blends seamlessly. What I love most about this product is that it makes my skin appear radiant without having any sort of iridescence, something I dislike about the bulk of highlighters on the market.

Chanel-Le-Blanc-Illuminating-Base-2

I generally use a pea-sized amount in conjunction with my usual moisturiser/primer and foundation combo. With careful placement the base can also double up as a highlighter especially when used on the bridge of the nose or apples of the cheek. It feels lovely on the skin. The texture is imperceptible and beautifully lightweight.

My only gripe with this product is the packaging. As lovely as it is, the heavy glass bottle doesn’t come with a pump/pipette. A spatula is supplied but I’m really not keen on it. While it’s fine to begin with (when you have a full bottle of product) I’m sure it’s going to be a pain in the butt when the product starts to run out.

Le Blanc de Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base is a gorgeous product. If you’ve been looking for an illuminator give this one a whirl. Not only does it amplify the skins natural light but it shapes/sculpts and corrects giving you the ultimate halo effect. It’s quite honestly unlike anything I’ve ever tried before. This is definitely a HG product for me and worth every penny.

What are your thoughts on illuminators? Is this a product you’re keen to try?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

31 thoughts on “The halo effect: Chanel – Le Blanc de Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base

  1. I used this many years ago and LOVED it! For me it’s more of a winter base (if that makes any sense hahah). Have you tried the compact cream bronzer/base Chanel has? I think it would be great for the big day but I’m not sure… 🙂

    • Hehe…. actually I think I can see why it would be more of a winter base for you 🙂 I think this is going to be an everything base for me, lol – i looooovvvveeee it:) I haven’t tried the compact bronzer but it looks divine 🙂 On my list of things to swatch. When is your big day? xx

      • September 13th! It’s 164 days awayyyy *omg* I still have to get the waterproof makeup and actually the foundation, but I’m waiting as I’ll probably get tanned and stuff. 😮 Which products are bride~approved in your opinion? ^^’

      • OMG!!! so exciting 🙂 I’m the worst person to ask for bride-approved makeup (haven’t been a bride yet) hehe. I think Giorgio Armani make great bases though (love the Luminous Silk foundation). Honestly, it really comes down to your personal preferences and of course your skin type. I don’t want to recommend something and it not be suitable 🙂 You wil look gorgeous regardless 🙂 Will you be getting married in Spain or Germany? Sorry, I’m so nosey haha 🙂 xx

      • It’s september 13th in Spain (of course! You can’t beat our food and weather imho!) Don’t worry, I pretty much think, dream, talk and breathe Wedding these days lol. I totally agree with you, I would love luxurious products for the big day, like Armani -I was thinking Bobbi Brown for the foundation but Armani is just too tempting, will def. Check it out). But I’m such a noob with waterproof stuff, I don’t know where to start. Weddings are crazy, I’m looking forward it so much but I’m kind of scared to death also. Oh well.

      • Yes, of course. The weather in Spain reminds me of the weather in Australia. I was in Barcelona last year and we had nothing but hot blue skies and hot days. Love, love, love Barcelona 🙂 Yeah, I’m a noob when it comes to waterproof makeup too. Primers are imperative though – I’m sure you know this 🙂 I’ll keep you posted if I stumble upon something you might like 🙂

    • Thanks for the suggestion 🙂 I might check with Chanel & MAC – who knows they may just be able to help (fingers crossed). I’m in love with this product and it’s not dewy in the slightest, at least not on me. I have combination-oily skin so I’m pretty picky with these sorts of products – and I don’t normally go for dewy either 🙂 x

  2. I would love to see what difference this makes on your face 🙂 I have been trying to get into the whole luminizing/highligting deal lately and just bought an illuminizer from Nars, but it is only suitable for highligting certain parts of the face if you ask me – this looks like something I might have to try. 🙂

    • You must give it a go or at least sample it at the very least:) It’s different to a highlighter – better in my opinion, as it looks more natural. Let me know how you go with it if you pick it up 🙂 It’s gorgeous and great at injecting radiance back into the skin, especially if you’ve just come out of a long winter (I’ve seen the news …. brrrrr cold) 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekend beauty bag | splishsplasch

  4. Pingback: April Favourites | splishsplasch

  5. I stumbled upon on your blog on pure coincidence and I love the way you write. I have been wanting this for literally AGES and you’ve just convinced me to go out and purchase it. In the end, Chanel can do no wrong, right? I’m really eager to see how it will look onto my face! 😉

    X Alice

    • Hi Alice 🙂 Thanks so much for your kind words and apologies about my super late response. The Chanel Le Blanc de Chanel Sheer Illuminating Base is one of my favourite finds of the year. I use it regularly and feel like it makes such a difference to my base. You should definitely give it a go – I’d love to know what you think. And it’s true, Chanel can do no wrong 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

