Budget Buy: Maybelline Color Show Crayon Khol (Matita Occhi)

Maybeline-color-show-Matita-occhi-1A couple of weeks ago I shared a couple of pics from the Chanel resort 2014 collection and mentioned I was looking for a good dupe for Chanel’s Stylo Yeux waterproof in True Blue (57). Well I’m happy to share that I think I’ve found the mother of all dupes – Maybelline’s Color Show Crayon Khol in Matita Occhi (what a mouthful).

The pencil is beautifully pigmented and glides like butter so you won’t have to press down too firmly to get decent colour payoff. The Maybelline pencil isn’t as soft as Rimmel’s Scandaleyes pencils, which I actually prefer as the Scandaleyes tend to be too maleable in my opinion. In fact they’re much easier to sharpen and therefor use. They come in an array of pretty colours but I only picked up this shade as I wasn’t familiar with the texture and pigmentation or how close it would resemble Chanel’s True Blue stylo yuex. So when I did finally give it a whirl, I was pleasantly surprised.

Maybeline-color-show-Matita-occhi-3I don’t have any qualms about this pencil at all. In fact I can’t believe I picked it up for under $6 AUD – seriously cheap as chips. The staying power is good and I got a good 4-5 hours of decent wear before it starts to fade. But during that time it didn’t smudge at all, so I was very happy. I will mention that I did use a primer, so I’m not sure how it would fair without one. As for the packaging it’s as basic as it gets although each pencil is colour coded which is handy.

So, if like me, you’ve been trying to recreate the makeup form the Chanel resort collection, I highly recommend this pencil from Maybelline. It’s not an exact match but it’s damn close and and for a measly $6 you can’t go wrong.

If you end up giving it a go, please let me know. I’d love to know what you thought.

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

20 thoughts on “Budget Buy: Maybelline Color Show Crayon Khol (Matita Occhi)

  1. Oh my gosh, I just bought a colour that is strikingly similar to this, but it’s by NARS and called Khao San Road. This must be very popular this season! x

    • Yes, I thought Khao San Road looked very similar too but I wasn’t prepared to pay for the privilege – NARS is super expensive here. (grrr) I think it’s such a great shade and it really makes my brown eyes stand out 🙂 Hope you enjoy the shade too! x

    • Thank you – I think so too. I’ve noticed I go through Rimmel pencils way too quickly. I’m convinced it’s because they’re so soft and I therefore have to sharpen them more regularly. I suppose it doesn’t help that it’s still very warm where I live. Thanks so much for commenting 🙂

    • Absolutely – it’s the perfect way to brighten a look. I wear a lot of monochrome so I like having fun with bright makeup. Thank you for your comment and I’m so pleased you tried the look 🙂

    • Totally agree 🙂 I love, love, love the colour 🙂 I’ve heard so many good things about the Urban Decay pencils but I have to order internationally to get my hands on them … grrr. This one was so much cheaper and much more accessible. It’s not a colour I’d wear everyday so I didn’t want to purchase one that was on the pricey side. x

      • I was just having a read and it was the first post! I’m determined to own about 10 shades in their lipsticks. And all the matte lipsticks. And basically everything.

      • Hehe… i love matte formulations too. I may have been a tad naughty today. I picked up another Chanel Rouge Allure Velvet lippie … so naughty, but I couldn’t resist. I have a problem, lol. Want them all 🙂

      • I’m at uni. I have no money! That’s why I’m sticking to budget products at the moment! Although I find you can pick up some really cheap items on strawberrynet.com sometimes which is great.

Leave a Reply

