The Lipstick Tag

Lipsticks-7I love my lipsticks so I thought it would be fun to share some of my favourites via the Lipstick tag. I wasn’t tagged personally and I don’t know where this tag idea originated from, but I thought it would be fun to share nevertheless. So here’s my take on all things lipstick.

1. How many lipsticks do you own?
Good question… let me check. Right, I just counted 36 although they’re are a few that I’ve misplaced/aren’t in my line of sight so I’m going to round it up and say 40. I consider this a moderate collection although that’s open to interpretation. In my eyes there’s always room for more.

2. What was the first lipstick you owned?
Oh gosh, I can’t remember. I think it was an Avon lipstick or maybe even a Revlon one. Honestly, it’s all a bit of a blur – how time passes. I do however recall the moment I fell in love with them. It was way back when my sister made one at school. I thought she was the bees knees (in general) and was over the moon when she made one for me specifically. It was my prized possession and I carried that thing around like my life depended on it.

3. What is your favorite lipstick brand?
It’s hard to pinpoint just one as I’m not particularly loyal to any brand per se, however at the moment I’m really loving the Chanel Rouge Allure Velvet line.

Lipsticks-24. What is your most worn lipstick?
This question was never going to be an easy one as I seem to go through phases, so the best way for me to answer this is to do a round up by colour. It’s kind of cheating I know, but I really can’t pinpoint one most worn lipstick. The following are all on high rotation.

Swatches left to right:
Nude:
NARS Dolce Vita
Purple/plum: MAC Rebel, MAC Plumful, YSL Rouge Volupté Shine #19 Fuscia in Rage and NARS Afgan Red.
Pink: Chanel La Diva, Chanel Fougueuse
Coral: MAC On Hold, YSL Rouge Volupté Shine #12 Corail Incandescent
Red: MAC Ruby Woo, NARS Manhunt.

lipstick-85. What is your favorite finish?
I love the Chanel Rouge Allure Velvet and NARS Sheer finish range. Oh, and I can’t exlcude YSL Rouge Volupte Shines – they’re lovely too.

6. What was the last lipstick you bought?
If you happen to visit my blog regularly you’ll know I recently splurged on Chanel’s L’Amoureuse from the Variation Collection. It’s a gorgeous deep rosewood shade and perfect for the cooler months although it can be worn whenever really. It’s a Rouge Allure Velvet finish in case you were curious.

Lipsticks-67. How many lip products do you currently have in your bag?
I normally start the week with just the one lipstick and lip balm, but by the end of the week it’s not unusual to find five floating around my bag  – one for every day of the week. That doesn’t include my lip balms either. I’m not big on glosses so I rarely carry those around with me.

8. What is your favorite red lip color?
I think my absolute favourite red has to be MAC’s Ruby Woo.  I know it’s not a particularly original choice but it’s such a classic retro red that suits my skin tone plus it makes my teeth look super white. It is very drying unfortunately so when I’m after something more subtle and hydrating I go for NARS Manhunt, a gorgeous poppy red that’s sheer and so easy to wear. Don’t be fooled by the term sheer either, this range has great colour payoff.

Lipsticks-59. How do you store your lipsticks?
I have a two clear acrylic lipstick organisers (see pic below) where I house my luxury and most worn lipsticks. I picked them up at Freedom Furniture many years ago, so I’m not sure if they’re still available. I also have three clear acrylic ‘stash boxes’ (also from Freedom Furniture). They hold all of my other lipsticks. I’m not sure if this is the best way to store them, but they’re all highly visible and easily accessible so it suits me for the time being.

Lipsticks-3

10. Which lipsticks are you currently lusting after?
I’m mostly lusting over Chanel’s Rouge Allure Velvet line – shades #32 La Ravissante, #34 La Raffinee and #38 Fasicante specifically and then there’s also  Christian Dior’s Rouge Dior Nude Lipstick in Grege #169.

I tag Exquisiteelixir,  Chiclapin, Watercolorsilk, Bauble & Trinket,  Eleseaesthete and  Acasualbeauty  to answer any or all of the questions above. Actually I tag anyone who wishes to do this tag. I’d love to read your Lipstick story so feel free to leave a link in the comments below and I’ll be sure to check out your post 🙂

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

37 thoughts on “The Lipstick Tag

    • It’s such a beautiful shade and so flattering on everyone I’ve seen it on. Totally worth saving for and definitely a staple I say 🙂 Thanks so much for dropping by and following 🙂

  1. I was thoroughly enjoying this post whilst thinking to myself I should do it as well, then I noticed you tagged me! Thanks very much for being my blogger buddy 🙂 xx

  2. OMG! I have seen “tag” things before and thought “Gee, I’d love to post about that but no one tagged me” and I just love that you did it anyway… I will follow suit next time. Quite an enviable lippie collection you have there x

  3. Ain’t nobody got time to wait around to be tagged! 😀 Kudos to you for doing it anyways! Looks like fun! I may have to get around to doing one soon, but I’m waiting for a new camera, my camera phone just isn’t up to the job…

    You’re collection looks fabulous btw – and Chanel La Diva? I just sigh out of beauty whenever I see it! Is it a limited edition? I’m not sure that it would suit my skin tone etc…

    • Damn straight 😀 Thanks Sylvia… I’d love for you to give the tag a go too 🙂 How exciting about getting a new camera 🙂 Btw, La Diva is limited edition, so if you see it give it a whirl at the counter. I didn’t think it would suit my skin tone either, but was pleasantly surprised 🙂

  4. I totally enjoyed your post! Beautiful photos and intersting collection! The thing with collecting lipsticks in my bag over the week happens to me as well. 🙂
    Thank you for tagging me, but I’m sure you wouldn’t enjoy my collection that much, as I own just a few lipsticks and really not so exclusive ones.

  5. Pingback: The Lipstick Tag! | Bauble & Trinket

  6. Pingback: Lust List #4: Mean Girls | Elese, Aesthete

  7. Pingback: Article: “The Lipstick Tag” | Elese, Aesthete

  8. Pingback: The Lipstick Tag | annie's beauty...

  9. Pingback: Lipstick Spotlight: Chanel Rouge Allure L’Exuberante (#37) | splishsplasch

  10. Pingback: Weekend beauty bag | splishsplasch

  11. Pingback: "The Lipstick Tag:" My Favourite Lipsticks! - elese dowden

Leave a Reply

