Clinique Bottom Lash Mascara

Clinique-Bottom-lash-mascara-1I’m always trying to make my eyes appear bigger and more awake, and I’ve found one of the simplest ways to do this (besides popping on a little nude eyeliner and using eye drops) is to wear mascara on my bottom lashes. Of course any old mascara will do the trick, but for the purposes of this post (and also because I was intrigued to sample the product) I thought I’d try Clinique’s Bottom Lash Mascara.

I’m sure I’m not alone in experiencing the problems associated with using big clunky mascaras on the lower lashes…. someone say flakiness, smeared mascara, panda eyes? – first world frustrations, I know.

Clinique-Bottom-lash-mascara-2

Supposedly Clinique’s bottom lash mascara is meant to minimise/eradicate these frustrations and I have to say so far it’s done a great job. The mascara separates, lengthens and defines my lashes unlike anything else, and on top of that it lasts all day. I don’t get the dreaded panda effect either, you know the one you’ve been sporting most of the afternoon that no one tells you about, until you check yourself out in a mirror.

I think all of these positives are largely due a). the formula (which feels waterproof but isn’t) and b). the teeny tiny wand that gets to all those hard to reach lashes (even the ones you didn’t realise you had). One coat is enough to see a difference but avoid further coats unless you’re a fan of spider eyes.

So is it worth it? Well yes and no. Yes, if you are finicky and like having specific products for specific purposes and no if money is an issueΒ  (a tiny 2ml tube will set you back $24 AUD). Honestly, it’s really a personal thing but by no means necessary. Personally I’m a fan and would repurchase again.

Have you tried the Clinique Bottom Lash Mascara? What were your thoughts?

All content Β© 2014 splishsplasch

8 thoughts on “Clinique Bottom Lash Mascara

  1. I get panda eyes even if I don’t use mascara on bottom lashes πŸ˜‰ My eyes tend to water in very bright (or windy) weather, so it’s always a problem for me.
    Hey, is this same brush/packaging as Benefit’s Gimme Brow? Just curious, they kinda look identical to me. I always find it intriguing when different companies use (recycle) product packaging. Like those chubby sticks, for example.

    • Oh you’re poor eyes… they must be very sensitive. I’ve become really allergic to something since I moved to where I’m currently living (a different state) so my eyes get watery a lot of the time too…. but I haven’t noticed any transfer with this bottom lash mascara. As for the packaging I just checked the bottom lash mascara against the eyebrow mascara and they are virtually the same with an almost identical wand. Funny, but not surprising πŸ™‚

  2. I always put mascara on my bottom lashes but I use a mascara called Jordana. I’ve found that a really light hand can make the difference on the bottom lashes.

  3. I haven’t tried it and have always wondered if it was worth it – I am quite lucky in that a couple of ‘blinks’ when my top mascara is still wet is usually enough to coat my lower lashes sufficiently without the need for me to try and do them with the wand… but I would be interested to see if they looked any better with this product. Having said that, am I interested enough to part with the cash they are asking? Probably not.

  4. Not really often I put a mascara on my button,but I like Clinique cosmetic,this gives a smooth look.Thanks for sharing.Have a wonderful day,Krystyna

Leave a Reply

