Take the day off …

Clinique-cleansing-balmSo I finally caved and purchased a cleansing balm – Clinique’s Take the Day Off ($55 AUD). In a nutshell it was the accessibility, price point and lack of fragrance that ultimately made this one, the one I ended up taking home with me.

Generally, one of the first things I like to do when I get home is remove the junk off of my face. By junk I mean makeup, grime and oil buildup. I’ve now incorporated Take the Day Off as a pre-cleanse solution and I’m finding the whole experience quite novel and enjoyable. Honestly, there’s nothing like a cleansing facial message after a long day – now if only I could get someone to do it for me.

Take the Day Off removes everything from heavy make-up to dirt and impurities. It contains emollients and plant oil to dissolve makeup and as I’ve found out, it’s perfect for removing even the most stubborn waterproof formulas. It feels gentle and non-stripping and best of all my skin feels deeply nourished after use. The balm itself is firm and resembles lard. All you need is small amount and you’re good to go. I scoop a little of the product and rub it between my fingertips. It melts to an oil, which I then message into my skin. Once I’m done messaging I use a hot flannel to remove the balm, and viola!

Like many before me, I have to admit I was a bit skeptical about incorporating a balm into my regime, but Take the Day Off seems to be doing a good job as a pre-cleanse product. While it may not be to every bodies liking it fits nicely into my beauty regime.

Have you tried a cleansing balm?Got a favourite you’d like to share. Let me know in the comments below.

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

14 thoughts on “Take the day off …

    • Hehe… I can understand why you think this may be overkill 🙂 Of course you don’t have to pre-cleanse, but if you’d prefer to, sure why not? 🙂 I generally let my skin relax for a a few hours before i cleanse again (before bedtime). I don’t like wearing day old makeup when I’m home or working out, which is why I use the balm as soon as I walk through the door :). It feels nourishing and non-stripping. Hope that all makes sense 🙂

      • Oh, got it now! 🙂 I only remove makeup right before bed (now that I started using mineral foundation, I don’t get that feeling of my face being covered in goopy mess at the end of the day that must go asap :D). Do you use same Clinique balm to cleanse again before bed or something different?

      • No probs… I tend to waffle sometimes but I probably should have clarified a bit further in my post:) I only use the balm when I get home… and definitely not in the morning. It’s quite literally just to remove makeup and grime… I used to do the same only with my cleanser but I found that a bit drying which is why i like the cleansing balm 🙂 I’m sure there are other ways to use it but this method seems to work for me.

  1. I adore the ‘Take the Day Off’ range… I haven’t tried the balm (tempted, after reading this) but I do use the makeup remover and it does a stunning job.

    • Oh wow! I actually received the makeup remover as a gift with purchase so I can’t wait to try it now. Let me know how you go with the cleansing balm if you end up picking it up 🙂 I know there are other similar products out on the market so worth doing a bit of research 🙂

    • I’ve not heard of Balm Balm so I don’t think we have it here (but I could be wrong). I’ll definitely have to do a bit of research and find out 🙂 Thanks for the heads up! Love a product recommendation 🙂

    • Thank you so much. Not sure how I missed your comment but thank you 🙂 It’s a great balm. I’m really enjoying it so far and finding it very gentle on my skin. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

