Dr. LeWinn’s Renunail Nail Strengthener

Revitanail-1So I’ve been pretty candid about my ongoing issues with my talons – in a nutshell (if you don’t already know) they suck. They’re week and brittle and hardly ever seem to grow. On the odd occasion, when they do grow, they split or chip, one by one – kind of like a slow moving domino stack. I’ve tried so many different things over the years to try and strengthen them but nothing has made a difference (yet).

A product I haven’t tried (but which has been recommended to me) is Dr. LeWinn’s Renunail Nail Strengthener. There are countless positive online reviews regarding this product and I have to admit I’ve always been curious about it. The other month, an opportunity arose where I was able to pick up a bottle at a discounted price. I was in a rush at the time and without thinking about it too much ran to the till and impulsively purchased it (without reading the ingredients list). The unfortunate thing is this product contains Formaldehyde – an ingredient that scares the bejesus out of me, and which I’ve avoided using up until now. It’s the reason why I’ve avoided purchasing products like Seche Vite, OPI Nail Envy, etc, etc. The worst thing is I only just realised too, and I’m into my third week!

This got me thinking. Have you ever bought a product or had a treatment you feel has compromised your health? Let me know in the comments below.

Revitanail-2Going back to my blunder, I’ve decided to continue the treatment for the recommended 4 week period. I am in week three now so don’t have all that long to go. After that I will cease using the product. Call it a mistake or an experiment… either way, I’m just trying to be transparent. I hate that I was negligent but I’m human after all.

So for those of you unfamiliar with this product Dr. LeWinn’s Renunail Nail Strengthener promises longer stronger nails in just 4 weeks. It’s supposedly the best treatment for weak, brittle nails. So far my nails do feel a lot stronger and they haven’t split. I’ll let you know how things go in a follow up post. As a side not, I’ve also tried to boost things on the vitamin front with the aid of Fusion Health Hair, Skin & Nails.

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

5 thoughts on “Dr. LeWinn’s Renunail Nail Strengthener

  1. Eek – I see why you would be concerned. It’s not something I have made my mind up about yet, mostly because from a chemistry perspective, Formaldehyde is a gas and you can’t stabilise or bond it to other things (hence it’s in terrible smog and air pollution), but then you hear of all this other scary stuff and the information is so conflictive :/ It does work for me brilliantly, so I will use it for now and not sniff it hahaha however, if I could find a nail strengthener without Formaldehyde in it (that seems to be successful) I would happily give it a go!

    • Totally bummed about finding out about the nasty ingredients in this product. Even though Formaldehyde is organic i want to avoid it as much as possible. Sally Hanson, OPI and Dr. LeWinn (amongst others) all do Formaldehyde-free versions although they’re not as good from what I’ve heard/read.

    • Yeah I was gutted when I found out. To make matters worse my nails do feel a lot stronger. I’ve since found out Dr. Lewinn’s do a sensitive version. I might have to look into that one a little more. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news 😦

Leave a Reply

