Budget Buy: Essence Party all night (35) mono eye shadow

Right, that’s it! ‘m putting myself on an eyeshadow buying ban (for the next 3 months – pretty pathetic I know but…). If I’m honest, I own more than enough shadows and adding any more to my collection is just getting ridiculous – I mean how many variations of the same shadow does one need? And before I shoot myself in the foot, I’m declaring (on this here blog) that there will be no NARS Narcissist palette coming home with me anytime soon, yep you heard right.

With all that being said their is one sneaky product that made it’s way into my basket some weeks ago which I’d like to share with you as it’s a beaut product. If you’ve been on the hunt for a good quality, inexpensive taupe than I may have found the one for you – meet Essence’s Party all night (35) mono eyeshadow.

Essence-eyeshadow-35-3This is my absolute favourite drugstore eyeshadow. Let me preface this by saying this particular shade, is my all time favourite. I’ve swatched some of the other shades in this line and the quality and finish varies across the shades. If you’re a lover of golden taupe (that leans more on the champagne side of the fence) you’ll love this beaut product. It’s labelled as a metallic finish but I would argue that it’s more pearlescent. On closer inspection it imparts a lovely sheen on my lids that’s somewhat sheer but buildable. While it is reflective in nature, it’s not chunky or glittery, which is why I like it so much.

Essence-eyeshadow-35-2Party all night builds up nicely and blends perfectly. It’s finely milled and applies smoothly. It’s a fabulous everyday neutral (with a twist), that could easily be worn alone or paired with a liquid liner and/or other shades. I prime my eyes before hand (as I do with most shadows) and get a good 8 hours of wear and – pretty good for someone with hooded eyes that are prone to oiliness and transfer. This particular shade in terms of quality, longevity and pigmentation is up their with some of the more pricey options.

Essence-eyeshadow-35-4Left-Right: Rimmel Scandaleyes Eye Shadow Paint in Golden Bronze, Rimmel ScandalEyes Eye Shadow Paint in Rich Russet, Maybelline Bad to the Bronze, MAC Satin Taupe, Essence Party all night, Shade from the Chanel Raffinement Quad.

Aside from the cheap flimsy packaging, there is not much to diss about this eyeshadow. At $2.85 (AU) it’s an absolute steal. As a reference I’ve included a swatch of varying shades I had in my stash for comparison. Some say Party all night is comparable to Suspect (from the Naked 2 palette) but I can’t vouch for that, so it’s worth checking for yourself.

Have you tried this shade? What were your thoughts?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

2 thoughts on “Budget Buy: Essence Party all night (35) mono eye shadow

    • Hi Melanie 🙂 It’s an absolute steal isn’t it? and the colour is gorgeous! It’s not so much the drugstore shadows that I’m concerned about. I seem to have acquired a few too many pricey palettes of late. I need to just take a step back, hehe. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

