Dior Overcurl Mascara: A new favourite?

Dior-Iconic-Overcurl-Mascara-2I don’t normally splurge on high end mascaras as I’ve generally been reasonably content with drugstore offerings, that is until i got my mitts on Dior’s Iconic Overcurl Mascara.

My first impression involved a few expletives, followed by a lot of oohs and ahhs. Honestly I don’t recall ever being so excited by a mascara. There are so many things I love about it; the wand is flexible (but not floppy); the brush is curved so it fits the width of my lashline, and with just one swoop my lashes achieve considerable volume and length.

Dior-Iconic-Overcurl-Mascara-1In addition, the mascara isn’t gloopy (hooray) and the combination of small and longer bristles means that all my lashes get some love’n. Best of all (with the aid of myΒ Shu Uemura curler) the mascara holds my curl for the entire day – Halleluja! The only downside is that I’ve now acquired a love for a fancy pants high-end mascara, that I can’t really afford to keep repurchasing. While I was lucky to be gifted this one (by a family member) I have a feeling I won’t want to go back to my old trusty (somewhat inferior) drugstore version.

Do you have a high-end mascara you can’t bare to be without? Please share in the comments below.

All contentΒ Β© 2014 splishsplasch

12 thoughts on “Dior Overcurl Mascara: A new favourite?

  1. Dior Blackout πŸ™‚ To me, it’s the perfect volumising mascara! I always ask a friend to grab one for me when they are in the states – I sooo wish they were cheaper here 😦 Dior does fab mascaras it seems! Luckily for me also, I don’t run out of mascara super fast so my tubes seems to last a while… that’s how I cheer myself up lol

    • I love a good volumising mascara. I’ve not tried Blackout but I will definitely look into it a little more… thanks for the heads-up πŸ™‚ I love finding out about products I’m unfamiliar with. Also, thank goodness for friends, duty free and birthdays hehe πŸ™‚

  2. Sounds like a pretty good mascara! I’ve never tried Dior’s but fell in love with Chanel’s inimitable intense. It was a hit on my lashes, but unfortunately, I bought it only once. It was not cheap at all, but who knows, one day maybe I buy it again!

    • It’s nice to treat yourself to something a little luxurious every now and then. Personally speaking, less is more…. I don’t own a lot of beauty products but what I do own I tried, tested and researched before splurging. Lucky for me, this mascara was a gift from my sister πŸ™‚ Hope you cross paths with your Chanel Inimitable mascara soon πŸ™‚

      • Thank you, let’s wait and see, maybe we cross paths soon :D.
        And I must agree with you again, for the less is more this time. I do the same thing, a lot of research before buying and choose to have one first choice thing rather than loads of alternatives that I’ll never use up (only with fragrances I’m not that rational, but that’s already known:D).
        So nice from your sister to treat you with this cosmetic candy. Sister rocks!

  3. Pingback: Weekend beauty bag | splishsplasch

  4. Pingback: April Favourites | splishsplasch

Leave a Reply

