Budget Buy: Maybelline Master Shape Brow Pencil (Soft Brown)

Maybelline-Master-Shape-Brow-Pencil-1I’ve had the Hourglass Arch Brow Sculpting Pencil sitting in my wishlist for some time now, but I’ve resisted splurging for two main reason a). it’s pricey and b). it’s outside of my monthly (beauty) budget.

With that being said, I needed something cheap and cheerful that would get me through the next few months, cue Maybellines Eye Studio Master Shape in Soft Brown. This is actually a repurchase, so I thought I’d share my thoughts with you seeing as I liked the product – a repurchase warrants a post all of it’s own, don’t you think?

As far as brow pencils go, Master Shape is a good budget friendly brow pencil. It’s easy to use, contains just the right amount of pigment and defines my brows without making them appear unnatural. Of course a good brow shape to begin with does help. Mine aren’t too shabby (if I do say so myself) although I’m due a tidy up very soon.
Maybelline-Master-Shape-Brow-Pencil-2If you’re a lover of waxy brow pencils, I think you’ll really like this one. As I mentioned earlier, I have the shade Soft brown – a slightly warm medium brown. Admittedly, the shade is a little too warm for my liking. It’s nothing to complain about, as I don’t use it to draw in my whole brow – rather I primarily use it to fill in any sparse areas and define my arch and tail.

I use the spooley to groom my brows on occasion, but if I’m honest it’s not the best quality and I really only use it out of convenience (when I don’t have my brow gel handy). As with most pencils I have issues with sharpening the product as it is just too soft and pliable in warmer climates. For this I just leave it in the fridge until is hardens and that seems to do the trick. I suppose the only thing that would make the pencil more convenient would be if it was a twist-up.

If you’ve been on the hunt for a brow pencil that lasts all day and offers easy application, perhaps give this one a go.

Whats your budget friendly option when it comes to brow products?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

9 thoughts on “Budget Buy: Maybelline Master Shape Brow Pencil (Soft Brown)

  1. Very useful post! I recently fell in love with the H&M brow kit. I wasn’t expecting a lot of it, but it’s great (and low-budget 😉 ). I would like it if you would check out my blog sometimes and maybe give me some feedback?
    Greetings Jasmin

    • I love a budget buy. The brow kit sounds interesting but sadly we don’t have H&M in Australia, so it’s a brand I can’t get my hands on unless I travel abroad. I’m heading over to check out your blog now 🙂 Thanks for popping by 🙂

  2. Pingback: New in & first impressions: Benefit Agent Zero Shine & Gimme Brow | splishsplasch

  3. Pingback: Weekend beauty bag | splishsplasch

Leave a Reply

