Chanel Notes de Printemps (Spring-2014)

Chanel-Notes-de-Printemps-Spring-2014I’m feeling somewhat coy about sharing this post because some serious cash was dropped over the weekend. There’s no rhyme or reason behind my splurge except that I simply wanted to treat myself to something a little special – that’s as good an excuse as any, and I’m sticking with it. Chanel Notes de Printemps was is my favourite Spring beauty release for 2014. I picked up 4 pieces from the collection and I could have easily picked up more had common sense not prevailed (in hindsight I’m grateful it did). As a collection, Notes de Printemps totally lived up to my expectations. So without further ado, here’s what I picked up…

Chanel-Lumieres-Facettes

First up we have the Lumière Facettes Quadra Eye Shadow in (537) Quadrille which contains a beautifully curated quad of fresh (and somewhat unexpected) spring colours. Each quad contains 6.8 grams of product. The four shades include a lovely lavender grey/mauve, a light golden ivory, gorgeous rosy apricot, and finally a deep mauvy brown. Normally in Australia, we get the baked version of the Chanel quads but this time we were treated with the same formula as the USA. I’m glad I can finally compare the two options. So far I’m loving this formula and hope Chanel continue on this path.

Quadrille has soft and subtle color payoff, so if you were hoping for intense colour you’d be slightly disappointed. Having said that you can totally sheer out the shadows or build them up. Personally I like a subtle approach as I’ve never really been big on excessive eyeshadow to begin with. Having said that, all of the shadows blend like a dream and personally I adore each and every shade. If however, I had to only pick one favourite it would be the rosy apricot shade. It adds a lovely warmth to my eyes and is unlike anything I currently own. The shadows feel light and fresh and reflect a youthful spring aesthetic.

Chanel-Illusion-Dombre-DiapasonI must have been living under a rock to have let Chanel’s Illusion d’Ombrés go unnoticed up until now. These little pots of metallic madness are such a delight to use. I picked up the shade 92 – Diapason which is described as a “luminous deep purple” – with a subtle burgundy-brown base. It has a frosted, shimmering finish yet it is lightweight, smooth, and easily blendable. I like to use it as a liner or as a light wash across my eyelids. The only things is, you’ve got to move quickly during application it as it does tend to set fast especially, if I’m using a primer (which in most instances I am).

Diapason is really beautiful and I think it would look absolutely amazing on every complexion and eye colour. It’s quickly becoming the workhorse in my shadow collection as it works harmoniously with almost all of my shadows.

Chanel-La-DivaIf there was a must have piece from the Notes de Printemps collection it would be the boldly sophisticated Rouge Allure Velvet in La Diva. I literally stalked every Chanel counter in a 30 km radius in order to guarantee I got my mitts on bullet.

La Diva offers high pigmentation that won’t budge for a good 3-4 hours. I literally stuffed my face with a ham & cheese croissant + latte and it didn’t budge one bit. When it did finally budge, it imparted a lovely wash that didn’t flake or dry up. While La Diva is breathtaking it is a matte lipstick and therefore needs prepping. I recommend exfoliating before hand and nourishing the lips with a good balm. Having said that it’s unlike any matte lipstick I’ve ever tried. It’s very comfortable on my lips and feels slightly creamy, some might even say velvety. It’s super lightweight and it doesn’t dry out my lips like some of my other mattes. Totally worth the splurge in my opinion.

Chanel-FougueuseSo this baby also came home with me. I wasn’t expecting to purchase another pink shade from the collection but I’ve been obsessing about pinks for some time now and I needed to feed my obsession. To be honest I had my heart set on the Rouge Allure Velvet in 45 – L’Adorée but after sampling it, I found it was just a bit off for my coloring. It’s a shame because it’s such a lovely unique colour. I currently own a couple of coral shades so 136 – Mélodieuse (a candy orange-red) wasn’t floating my boat either. I almost bypassed 138Fougueuse but thankfully swatched it and within seconds knew I had to have it.

Fougueuse is a cheerful pop of bright pink with cool undertones and a luminous sheen. It’s fun, vibrant and exciting – how could I resist? It applies super smoothly, is lightweight and mildy scented. It’s bright but not as intense as La Diva, as it doesn’t have any white pigment.  While it’s mostly opaque it’s not a full coverage, making it super easy to wear. The packaging, which I haven’t mentioned up until now is sublime. The casing has a spring mechanism inside the casing which clicks the lipstick back in its lid – genius and so pretty to look at. Of the two pinks I purchased, Fougueuse is the more wearable of the two, as it’s an easy daytime colour and finish. It also matches my recent blush purchases pretty perfectly (Bobbi Brown Apricot and Dior Rosy Glow). So happy I did a double take.

Chanel-Spring-2014-swatchesHere’s the obligatory arm swatch. From left to right we have: Rouge Allure Velvet in 44 – La Diva, Rouge Allure in 138 – Fougueuse, Lumière Facettes eye shadow quad in 537 – Quadrille, and Chanel Illusion d’Ombré in 92 – Diapason.

Chanel is a cosmetic brand that truly delivers. Overall I’m very impressed with my purchases as well as the quality although I’d expect no less from Chanel. I’m still looking at the adding the Le Crayon Lèvres Precision Lip Definer (in 70 – Sonic Pink) as potential item but I realise that I’m being completely indulgent. Still it would be a nice addition and would compliment both lipsticks perfectly. Hmm, lets see how this one unfolds.

Did you pick up anything from the Chanel Note de Printemps Spring 2014 collection?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

16 thoughts on “Chanel Notes de Printemps (Spring-2014)

  1. I still didn’t see spring collection at our shops. All things look beautiful, especially Illusion d’Ombres and Fougueuse lipstick. The latter is absolutely a dream colour even if it’s so strange to see Chanel in golden tube, although it fits great to coral lipstick.
    However, even though I like all your picks, I’d probably pick just Fougueuse lipstick and spend the rest on fragrances 😀 I know, I’m a crazy woman 😀

    • Spring products are my favourites :)The Chanel Rouge Allure have a black casing, it’s just the actual bullet that is gold. It’s all very classy in my opinion 🙂 Hehe…. fragrances are your weakness 🙂 Mine are definitely lipsticks 🙂 Perhaps we’re both a little crazy 🙂 xx

  2. Pingback: New autumn lipstick: Chanel L’Amoureuse (47) | splishsplasch

    • HI Alina, It’s an amazing shade but I think it’s limited edition, at least it is here in Australia. It’s really unlike anything I own. It’s a lot of money to drop on a lipstick but it’s pretty special 🙂 THanks for dropping by 🙂

  3. Pingback: Lipstick Spotlight: Chanel Rouge Allure L’Exuberante (#37) | splishsplasch

  4. Pingback: Weekend beauty bag | splishsplasch

Leave a Reply

