Budget buy: Rimmel Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner

Scandaleyes-1There are so many things I love about the Rimmel Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Eyeliners; the texture, the pigmentation, the colour range, and not to mention the price point($9.99 AU). They’re also waterproof (as the name would suggest) meaning they won’t budge. I have a couple of these pencils in a variety of shades but I recently acquired two more in the shades Sparkling Black and Taupe.

Scandaleyes-5Sparkling black is said to be a great dupe for the Chanel Stylo Black Stream eyeshadow. I realise one’s a shadow and the other a pencil, but if we’re honest, products are so interchangeable/versatile these days that in my eyes they still qualify as dupes, at least in terms of colour. As a cautionary reminder steer clear of the waterline with this shade if you have sensitive eyes – the micro bits of shimmer are a pain in the butt. Texture wise, Sparkling Black is very soft but highly pigmented, as you’d expect. The shimmer is subtle, but not chunky or gritty (see the close-up above). It looks fabulous on its own, paired with some kohl on the waterline, or mixed with Taupe to create a gradual ombre effect.

Taupe is a great everyday colour. I’ve been using it on my waterline when I want to slightly define my eyes but don’t want anything to heavy or obvious. It’s subtle and natural looking which is why it’s one of my favourite shades in the entire range. While I love the soft texture, sometimes it can be a pain to work with, especially on hot days when it gets a little ‘mushy’. On the flip side, it doesn’t tug or pull my skin.

If you’re strapped for cash or just don’t want to splurge on a pricey liner, Rimmel Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Eyeliners are great quality pencil at an affordable price. My only gripe (and it’s not a big gripe) is that they can get a little soft in warmer climates, like where I live. This isn’t a deal breaker as I just pop them in the fridge until they harden a little. Overall, you really can’t go wrong with these gems.

What are you’re favourite Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner shades?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

 

10 thoughts on “Budget buy: Rimmel Scandal’Eyes Waterproof Eyeliner

  1. I was thinking to myself, “Wow, that taupe would be great for defining the eye without being too much,” and then I saw you wrote the thoughts right out of my head, hah!

Leave a Reply

