5 minute face

5-minute-face

I’m reasonably good at doing my makeup quickly (if I do say so myself). On average I take a good 15 minutes. On the odd occasion (I’m talking about those mornings I’ve hit the snooze button far too many times), I  usually have to cut that time in half. As a result, I’ve had to develop a go-to look utilising fewer products, that I can apply in a minimum amount of time – with a minimum amount of fuss.

Generally when I’m in a rush, I prefer to use my hands to apply products. I pretty much skip anything that requires a brush or fancy tool (with the exception of a blush brush and eyelash curler). First up (after I’ve cleansed and toned) is to liberally apply my La Roche-Posay Effaclar Mat moisturiser. It’s sebo-regulating, sinks in pretty quickly and dries matte, which is great for my combo skin. I follow up with a quick application of Bobbi Brown corrector (light-medium peach) to cover any dark circles. This stuff has changed my life. From my understanding Peach will neutralize brown and purple circles and bisque will neutralize blue.  I then turn to my base of choice – my trusty Diorskin Nude BB cream. This stuff never disappoints, especially when I’m in a rush. I dot some product around my face and start spreading it, working from the center and blending outwards. It sinks in pretty quickly, evens out my skin tone and doesn’t cling to any dry patches (which I’ve managed to keep under control – thank you Hydraluron). I love the brightened, dewy finish of the BB cream as it makes me look awake and well rested. If I’m running late, I usually skip my powder – my compact is almost always in my bag from the day before, so I powder up on a need-to basis.

Once I’ve got my base out of the way I line my upper lash line with the Eyeko Skinny liner. I picked up a sample of this last year (it was a magazine freebie actually) and it’s lasted a hell of a long time, although I’m going to need to buy a new one soon as it’s starting to dry up. I prefer felt tip liners for my upper lash line as they have greater staying power. This one lasts all day and doesn’t smudge or fade. It’s a good one for those of us with oily eyelids. I normally skip my bottom lash line all together because it detracts from the blush and lippie I’m about to apply. Before doing that though, I quickly curl my lashes with my Shu Uemura eyelash curler and then apply a coat or two of my new favourite mascara – Dior overcurl. More on that later… a post ensures.

Now that my face is looking somewhat normal, it’s time to inject a bit of colour. There’s no time for bronzer or contouring, so I head straight to my blush. My current go-to shade is Bobbi Brown’s Apricot. I just pop a bit on each cheek and I’m good to go. I love the colour and the way it seamlessly applies to the skin. And finally, the pièce de résistance – a bright lippie (always). I’ve been leaning towards pinky coral shades lately and Rosy by Bobbie Brown has been on high rotation. It’s the perfect pop of colour that makes me look fresh eyed and bushy tailed. Normally I have a few lipsticks floating in the pit of my bag so if I’m really late, I’ll just use a random lippie and apply it while I’m sitting in traffic. Not much I can do about traffic really, although it does make for a decent excuse as to why I’m late.

So there you have it – my quick 5 minute face. Let me know what your go-to products are when you’re running late or are pressed for time.

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

11 thoughts on “5 minute face

  1. I LOVE this 🙂 I’m definitely going to give the Diorskin Nude BB cream a try. And that Bobbi Brown blush looks absolutely perfect for spring. Haha very well done x

    • Hi Endora (beautiful name btw) – thanks so much! 🙂 Definitely give the Diorskin Nude BB cream a try… It’s really lovey – one of my favourite finds of 2013. Thanks for dropping by 🙂 x

  2. I love your choice! Simple and fresh! And those Bobi Brown things are just so beautiful!
    My go-to make up is almost the same order – clean & moisturize face, foundation, blush, lipstick. I just skip eyeliner and mascara. I know it sounds weird, but, I got used to it and it fits to “no make up” make up.

Leave a Reply

