Al’chemy Ginkgo & Jojoba Intensive Moisture Hair Masque

Alchemy-hair-masque-1My hair’s in need of some serious love’n at the moment. It gets to a particular length and then starts chucking a tanty. It’s usually a sign I need  a cut. I find a masque usually takes the edge off and takes it from drab to fab somewhat decent. I’ve been enjoying Al’chemy’s Ginkgo & Jojoba Intensive Moisture Hair Masque lately. If you’re unfamiliar with the masque it’s Australian made, is 100% natural and includes vegan ingredients (see full ingredients listed below). There are no parabens, silicones or other nasties plus it’s not tested on animals.

Alchemy-hair-masque-2

If I had a choice, I’d use natural products all the time but if I’m honest, I’m usually left a little disappointed with the products performance. This mask however, is quite different. It has a lovely rich, creamy consistency that’s quite thick. Despite being rich, it rinses away nicely and leaves my hair feeling soft and healthy, not at all weighed down. Overall, my hair feels hydrated and more manageable. It feels soft to the touch and smells incredible. Speaking of the scent, I can’t quite describe it, but embarrassingly I melt every time I catch a whiff of my own hair, sad but true. It’s very pleasant and relaxing, in a botanical/spa sort of way.

My preferred method of use is to work it into my hair (after shampooing), concentrating on the ends. I’ll then twist it all up under a shower cap and leave it in for about 3-5 minutes. I’ll then rinse it out and follow up with some cold water, and that’s pretty much it. Generally I avoid using a hair dryer as much as possible, so I’ll just towel and air dry my hair.

This is a really nice, natural and cost effective masque, however as much as I like it I wouldn’t say it’s amazing. The scent as I’ve mentioned is incredible and I’d love to find similar scented products, as I just can’t get enough. I’d recommend the masque if you prefer more natural products (without the nasties) and are looking for something good without the frills.

What are your thoughts on natural hair products/treatments? Have you got any favourites?

Ingredients: Aqua (purified Australian water), Cetearyl Alcohol*,Panthenol (Provitamin B5),Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil (cold pressed, Australian grown),Behentrimonium Methosulfate(from GMO free Rapeseed),Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein (GMO free),Glycerin*,Lauryl Glucoside*,Sorbitol*,Rice Amino Acids,Glyceryl Laurate*,Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil(certified organic cold pressed, Australian grown),Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E Acetate)*,Potassium Sorbate,Sodium Gluconate (from GMO free corn),Maltodextrin (GMO free),Citric Acid*,Squalane (from Olives),Pelargonium Graveolens (Geranium) Flower Oil,Pogostemon cablin (Patchouli) Oil,Lecithin,Tocopherol,Ascorbyl Palmitate,Fusanus Spicatus Wood Oil,Hydrogenated Palm Glycerides Citrate,Elettaria Cardamomum Seed Oil,Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract,Eugenia Caryophyllus (Clove) Leaf Oil,Citronellol#, Geraniol#, Linalool#,* derived from botanical sources, # component of the essential oils

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

4 thoughts on “Al’chemy Ginkgo & Jojoba Intensive Moisture Hair Masque

  1. It’s almost a rule that natural hair products come without silicones (at least that was the case with a lot of natural hair products I came across). However they don’t always give up all the nasties, at leas not those I don’t like, so finding the right natural product can be really hard. I had luck with shampoo (by Natura Siberica), but I am still haunting my dream conditioner (planning to try Natura Siberica’s, but large bottles keep me waiting). But, looking at the non-natural products, search can be even harder, because they are often filled with silicones, SLS and etc. and all the other stuff that makes my hair looking weak and limp.

    • You’ll have to let me know how you go with the Natura Siberica conditioner. I totally understand your frustration. It’s really difficult finding something that ticks all the boxes. Keep me posted on how you go 🙂

    • Hi Elsie, I generally use much like a conditioner in the shower but I’ve also use it as a leave in masque. I prefer not to though as I find it weighs my hair down. Have you used it yet? How are you finding it? Thanks for dropping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

