Mini Bobbi Brown haul

bobbi-brown-haul-1When it comes to stockpiling new makeup I seem to be on a bit of a roll lately. My recent sneaky acquisitions have included a few Bobbi Brown products. I was only meant to purchase a creamy corrector (honest) but a swatch here and a swatch there led to a couple of other purchases; lipstick and blusher. Here’s what I picked up:

bobbi-brown-haul-2Creamy Corrector: I’d finally figured out that the dark circles under my eyes weren’t remnants of poorly removed makeup. To my horror they were in fact pesky dark circles, the kind you get from poor nutrition, lack of sleep and late nights (mine aren’t hereditary). I’ve never really had dark circles so while I’ve been working on catching up on sleep and eating better I needed a quick fix – enter Bobbi Brown creamy corrector. I try and use the corrector when my circles are particularly bad – usually during the week surprisingly. I have the shade light-medium peach, which corrects my brown/purple circles. The formula feels very creamy and is somewhat waxy in extreme heat, so it has a tendency to slip and slide if you’re spending a lot of time outdoors. Just be sure to powder and you should be right.  I’m still working on the right corrector to concealer ratio but so far I’m loving the results. I definitely look more awake and less haggard that’s for sure. I think there are a total of 15 shades in the range and would you believe I was matched to three different shades on each time I sampled the product. I felt light-medium peach was the best match for my light olive complexion.

bobbi-brown-haul-3bobbi-brown-haul-6Swatches (L-R) Bobbie Brown Rosy, YSL Rouge Volupte Shine Coral Incandescent  (#12), MAC Crosswires, MAC On Hold, MAC Vegas Volt

Sheer Lip Color (Rosy): I’m a huge sucker when it comes to lipsticks and seeing as I don’t own any from The Bobbi Brown range I thought I’d test one out, for review purposes of course. Rosy is such a playful colour that instantly injects colour and radiance to my face. Rosy a gorgeous pinky-orange shade that glides on like butter but injects just the right amount of colour and shine. I liken these to YSL’s Rouge Volupte Shines, which is still to this day my favourite formula. Speaking of formula, it’s lightweight and doesn’t feather which is a massive bonus particularly when you live in a hot climate country, like Australia.

bobbi-brown-haul-4Blush (Apricot): I fell for Apricot as soon as I saw it in the pan. Apricot is a vibrant pinky coral. I thought the shade (which appears super bright in the pan) might make me look less corpse like and a little more human – so far I’ve had success! What I like about most about the blush is it’s sheer (yet matte) formula – I don’t end up looking like I’ve applied too much product and of course it’s very builable. It doesn’t need touching up and lasts throughout the day. Typically I get about 6-8 hours wear depending on the humidity.

So that wraps it up for my mini haul. What are some of your Bobbi Brown favourites?

All content © 2014 splishsplasch

12 thoughts on “Mini Bobbi Brown haul

  1. I tried the Creamy corrector and found that it never quite set, but stayed tacky throughout the day. That’s probably because it is so creamy. I hope it works out for you! Also do you happen to watch Essiebutton on YouTube? She talked about Bobbi Brown Apricot blush and Rosy lipstick in a recent video and now you two have me wanting both of them, too!

    • Yeah the concealer is very creamy – nothing a little powder can’t fix 🙂 It covers my dark circles so I’m pretty happy with it so far 🙂 Yes, I am an Estee fan – funny girl. I’ve heard her talk about the Rosy lipstick but haven’t hear her talk about the blush. Perhaps the sales associate was/is a fan too, lol. They’re very beautiful shades. Give them a whirl and let me know what you think 🙂

  2. Pingback: 5 minute face | splishsplasch

  3. Pingback: Dior Rosy Glow | splishsplasch

  4. Pingback: January 2014 Beauty favourites | splishsplasch

  5. Pingback: Chanel Notes de Printemps (Spring-2014) | splishsplasch

  6. Pingback: Diorskin Nude Skin Perfecting Hydrating Concealer (001 Ivory) | splishsplasch

  7. Pingback: Beauty items I’d repurchase in a heartbeat (if I could only own 10) | splishsplasch

Leave a Reply

