My (somewhat overdue) French Skincare ‘City Pharma’ Haul

French-Pharmacy-HaulIt dawned on me, while using my beloved bioderma that i hadn’t posted about my French skincare haul. Several months have passed since my trip abroad (it feels like a lifetime ago) but I thought I’d share my purchases anyway, in case you were inquisitive. I picked up all of my goodies from City Pharma – the mecca of all french skincare pharmacies. I dragged my darling boyfriend along with me which I know sounds torturous (for him and me both). I’d planned on doing a quick dash and grab as I’d already researched what I wanted, but the crowded store took me by surprise. While I would have loved to taken my time perusing the isles, there was literally no time or room for that. So my advice (if you’re planning a similar trip or are prone to anxiety) is to save your trip for a morning visit, or simply head to one of the many pharmacies scattered around the city – there’s literally one at every corner. So without further adieu here’s what I picked up:

La Roche-Porsay Effaclar Mat: A matte moisturiser? – hello there. I’ve posted about my love for my Grown Alchemist Matte Balancing Moisturiser  but wanted to try something new just out of curiosity. What can I say… I’m inquisitive by nature.

La Roche-Porsay Effaclar Duo: I love, love, love this product. It’s one of my favourite finds of 2013. While this wasn’t a new purchase I couldn’t resist the cheaper price point and picked up an additional tube.

Vichy Aqualia Thermal Eye Roll-On: Roll-on eye contour? yes please. I’d originally had my eye on the Origins No Puffery Cooling Rollerball but opted for this one instead. It was a case of when in Rome Paris.

Bioderma Crealine H2O: Okay so by now, I’ve established  I have a deep, unwavering love for French skinacre. Bioderma Crealine H2O was going to be my City Pharma pièce de résistance, so much so that I snuck two twin packs into my basket. Believe the hype people, this stuff is awesome.

La Roche-Porsay anthelios AC SPF 30 Matte Extreme Fluid I picked this up for two reasons, one was out of necessity (it was hot in Paris) and the other was because I’d heard so many good things about it. I now wish I’d picked up more of these. Anything that says ‘double anti-shine action’ gets my attention. I believe these are now stocked in Priceline if you’re in Australia.

Bioderma Hydrabio Masque:  Formulated for sensitive or dehydrated skin, the mask is supposed to train the skin to moisturise itself (via the patented Aquagenium biological complex). Not sure what I think about that but so far I’m loving it. This will be great for winter when my skin is much drier.

Bioderma Sebium Pore Refiner (For Combination / Oily Skin): I have high hopes for this product, so I bought two – one for me and the other for my sister. The cream is supposed to refine and mattify the skin while maintaining radiance and preventing imperfections. How could I say no, right? While I like the product I don’t think it’s a must have.

Got any French skincare products you think are awesome? Let me know in the comments below.

All content © 2013 splishsplasch

7 thoughts on “My (somewhat overdue) French Skincare ‘City Pharma’ Haul

  1. I’ve been dancing around Effaclar Mat the whole summer, and something would always be stopping me for some reason (I’m a bit terrified that it would clog pores). And now it’s winter and I’m no longer shiny or oily 😉 Let us know how you get along with it, maybe I’ll need to pick it up next year after all.

    Hehe, 2 twin packs on Bioderma’s water? 😀 Hey, how much was it, just out of curiosity? Here it’s about €20 per 500ml bottle.

    • I love the Effaclar mat moisturiser. If you’re skin is behaving, skip it till it gets warmer. It never truly gets cold where I am, so Shiny skin is a bit of an issue unfortunately. Oh, I will mention that it’s actually non-comedogenic from what I’ve read – so it shouldn’t block pores.I haven’t any issues at all, but results may very (as with any product), so I don’t want to hype it up. As for the bioderma I think i paid €15 for two 500ml bottles. In Australia one 250ml bottle costs the equivalent about €20 and one 500ml bottle is like getting two twin packs! The markup is incredible. Anyway, thanks for dropping by and Merry Christmas 🙂

    • I have tried Effaclar Mat. It is pretty great. Makes your skin feel so smooth and light and lessens the shiny look throughout the day. It also dries instantly on the face. It is made for oily skin with acne. For sure it won’t clog your pores, its just a safe hydration for oily skin! without the shine! 🙂

  2. Pingback: 5 minute face | splishsplasch

  3. Pingback: January 2014 Beauty favourites | splishsplasch

  4. Pingback: Weekend beauty bag | splishsplasch

Leave a Reply

