Cheap thrills: Nyx Eyeshadow base

nyx_shadow_base
If you haven’t already heard Nyx has finally hit Australian shores and Target has been confirmed as the official stockist. While the roll-out isn’t complete it’s expected that all stores (nationally) will stock the range in the next few months. I had a sneaky look at the collection over the weekend but was disappointed to find that the products i wanted (jumbo pencil in white and Blush in Taupe) were out of stock or not available in Australia.

In the end I only purchased one product –  the Nyx Eyeshdaow base in white. I thought it was fairly comparable to the jumbo pencil and preferred the idea of dabbing the product over my eyelid instead of dragging it. Overall I was really  impressed. It’s a great budget friendly base that’s perfect for maximising the intensity of eyeshadow colours that might sometimes get lost over a beige base/no base. On top of that it increases the longevity and durability of your shadow. If you do need to even out your lids go for the skin tone option as it appeared somewhat comparable to Mac’s soft ochre but a little more peachy.

There was one significant downside to the product – it creased on me. I suspect it’s got something to do with the mineral oil, which happened to be one of the top ingredients. I’ve since experimented with a primer and this seems to have fixed the problem.

What are your thoughts on shadow bases? Are they worth the hype?

All content © 2013 splishsplasch

4 thoughts on “Cheap thrills: Nyx Eyeshadow base

    • I guess it depends on the look you’re going for. I’m not a heavy shadow wearer in general but I like that it intensifies even my nude shadows. Totally agree about Nyx’s arrival in Aus. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

