Real Techniques Core Collection

Real_Techniques_brushes_1I’ve never really been a huge brush hoarder but I have to admit I caved and bought the Real Techniques Core Collection having read the many positive reviews via social/print media. I’ve had these for some time now but was delayed in writing my post, actually it got lost in my posts folder.  To be honest I bought these to replace all the brushes I disposed of during  ‘the Purge’. This was when I pretty much got rid of 60% of my possessions. Generally I don’t like clutter. Also I was moving interstate, so I thought I’d get rid of the things that were weighing me down, which included a lot of my beauty and skincare items (amongst other things I’d collected over the years). Since then my purchases (in general) have been pretty curated. Less is more I say, even when it comes to makeup and skincare.

Real_Techniques_brushes_2Back to the brushes and I’ve been using the collection for several months now. I have to say that I’m really impressed with the quality. All four brushes are super soft and can be used for liquid, cream or powder products, making them great when it comes to versatility. Honestly, if you asked me to recommend a brush set it would be this one, however I’d also tell you to get the blusher brush (sold separately) which happens to be my all-time favourite (from the Real Techniques range).

Real_Techniques_brushes_3

The Core collection comes in a lovely carry case  which turns into a stand when you tighten out the attached string. Not only is the case compact but it’s also perfect for travel. The brushes themselves are lightweight, despite looking like they should be heavier. The bristles on the other hand are extremely soft and made of taklon. If I had to pick just one favourite (from the collection) it would have to be the Buffing Brush which I use to to apply foundation and cream bronzer. I haven’t experienced any issues with these brushes and overall believe I made a positive little investment.

Real_Techniques_brushes_4The following brushes are included in the collection:
Buffing Brush: Overall a great brush for buffing in a mineral or powder foundation especially if you like maximum coverage. Also great for applying cream foundation and bronzers.
Contour Brush: I love this bush. It’s somewhat domed shaped which tapers out. It actually reminds me of the blush brush,but a smaller version. This is great for both contouring and highlighting.
Pointed Foundation Brush: I generally use this as a foundation brush, but to be honest I actually prefer it to blend out concealer.
Detailer Brush: I love this for spot concealing.

Have you tried the Real Techniques Core set? If not, what are some of your favourite brushes?

All content © 2013 splishsplasch

11 thoughts on “Real Techniques Core Collection

  1. I’ve been eyeing Real Techniques brushes for so long now, am just waiting for a 3 for 2 promotion at Boots (but I might cave early, they’ve got a Buy 1 Get 1 Half-Price at the moment). Thanks for sharing, great review =)
    Xx
    Penny
    parsimoniouspenny.wordpress.com

    • Aww you’re welcome 🙂 I bought mine from iherb where I got them for virtually half the price that I would have paid in Australia. I’ll update the post with my discount code, if anyone’s interested. Thanks for dropping by 🙂

  2. I got one of the Real Techniques Starter kits and, it was seriously the best purchase I have made all year. The brushes are so high quality for the price. I like having the case too. I didn’t think I would use it, but I like to keep the Real Techniques brushes separate from my other brushes. My other brushes are hella jealous because I never use them anymore 😉

    • Hehe… it’s easy to neglect other brushes isn’t it? I’m happy to hear you’re enjoying your kits as much as I am mine 🙂 Also, thank you for following – much appreciated 🙂 Hope you drop by again 😉

  3. Pingback: Chanel Soleil Tan De Chanel | splishsplasch

Leave a Reply

