Daiso detergent for puff and sponge

Daiso_detergent_for_puff_and_sponge_1

Last weekend I took an impromptu visit to the city. For a while i was trying to steer clear of the shops for fear of spending money when i ought to be saving for my trip abroad later this year. I wasn’t particularly going for any purpose other than to browse/kill some time. I headed into Daiso after feeling a little nostalgic (about my trip to Japan last year – fav country to visit to date). For those of you who are unfamiliar with Daiso stores, they’re essentially a variety store based where everything costs $2.80. You can find a bunch of lifestyle and novelty items that you’ll realise you just have to have. It’s safe to say that if you love Japanese and Korean knick knacks you’ll love Daiso.

Daiso_detergent_for_puff_and_sponge_3I did reasonably well, picking up some Black bean sweets and a couple of other odds and sods for around the home, however my most exciting purchase was theΒ Daiso Detergent for Puff and Sponge. I’m just going to put it out there and say that this detergent is the best brush and sponge detergent ever.

Daiso_detergent_for_puff_and_sponge_4The detergent is a clear liquid used to clean brushes, sponges and puffs. I’ve used many other detergents, brush cleaners and even Isopropyl alcohol before, but nothings cleans my brushes and sponges as well as the Daiso detergent. At $2.80 it’s a bargain. I haven’t experienced any damage to my brushes however I have heard that you shouldn’t use the Daiso detergent on natural bristle brushes – not sure whether or not this is true but just a forewarning. If you live anywhere near a Daiso store I strongly recommend you hop on over and pick up a bottle or two. You won’t be disappointed.

Do you swear by a brush and/or sponge cleaner? Let us all know.

All contentΒ Β© 2013 splishsplasch

8 thoughts on “Daiso detergent for puff and sponge

  1. I want a Japanese/Korean store too!! I love me some knick knacks πŸ˜€ Here we only have Chinese stores (and an abundance of them too) and it’s not exciting at all.

    Where are you traveling later this year?? πŸ™‚

    As for brush cleaning, I’m going through my unused shampoo stash πŸ˜‰ I switched to shampoo bars about a year ago, but I still have a lot of bottled up stuff left.

    • Yay for knick knacks πŸ™‚ I’m travelling to Europe with my better half. We’re kicking it off in the U.K, then heading to The Netherlands, France and Spain. Not looking forward to the flying time, you’re all so far away from where I am hehe.

      Good on you for getting through your products too :)…. better to use up your old shampoos, then throw them away or replace them with more products.

      Have a fab week lovely!

  2. I use the exact same detergent from Daiso! It’s amazing that you get them over where you are too! It costs only 2SGD over here though. I’ve not used them on my brushes, just the sponges! I actually use baby shampoo for my makeup brushes, and that’s served me well so far. πŸ™‚

    • I love that products are so much more accessible nowadays regardless of where you live in the world. The Daiso detergent is amazing although I’ve heard it shouldn’t be used on natural bristle brushes… haven’t been game enough to try it though. I say keep doing what works best for you πŸ™‚ Have a lovely weekend!

    • HI Jo, Thanks for dropping by. I actually quite like the pink sponge. It think its by Models Prefer – not sure if you’re familiar with the brand – it’s a cheap drugstore brand here in Australia. I haven’t actually tried the beauty blender so can’t do a comparison but the sponge is great it my opinion and gets the job done πŸ™‚ Hope that helps πŸ™‚ oh, and big thanks for following too πŸ™‚

  3. I recently purchased the Daiso on Ebay and it is awesome! I love using the beautyblender (btw, I have tried many knockoffs of it and beautyblender is the best imo), but it is so hard to clean. I would spend 10 minutes or more trying to clean it with just about any soap I could get my hands on, including some expensive ones. This cleaned my beautyblender in less than 2 minutes and I wear long-wearing foundation. Yay! I just wish I could buy it in a store here without having to order it.

    • Hi Shelly πŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting and I’m so happy to hear you’re loving the Daiso detergent… yay! It really is an amazing makeup brush/sponge cleaner – 1-2 minutes and you’re done:) I haven’t got a beauty blender (yet) but it works well on all my brushes/sponges. Just be careful on natural bristle brushes as I’ve heard it might be a little harsh on them. It’s a shame you have to order it online… but at least you have that option, as it’s such a great product. Thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

