Favourite Moisturiser: Grown Alchemist Matte Balancing Moisturiser

grown_moisuriser_1

I was rummaging though my skincare and realised I hadn’t yet introduced you to my favourite and most trusted moisturiser – Grown Alchemist Matta Balancing Moisturiser. I honestly don’t know what I’d do without this little tube of awesome, it’s literally done wonders in terms of my skins texture and condition and I hate to say it, but it’s a holy grail product for me.

grown_moisuriser_2

To be honest I’ve struggled finding a moisturiser (up until now) that was nourishing without being greasy. The fact that I have combination skin and that it’s generally hot for most of the year in Australia gives you some indication of how challenging it’s been finding something that does the job, without looking and feeling like a grease ball. To be honest I was dubious when I first used it but I was also intrigued, mostly about the mattefying claims and it’s botanical properties. After my first and initial application it did in fact … enter drum roll… mattefye and nourish my skin! It was a special moment, let me tell you. Since then I’ve purchased several tubes and provided the format doesn’t change will continue to do so for many years to come – if it ain’t broke why fix it, right?

grown_moisuriser_3

The texture and scent is lovely however it comes at a price – $59.95 AU (the only downside really). I love the apothecary-style packaging and philosophy of the brand and was happy to hear they don’t test on animals. I haven’t tried any of their other products however I have heard that they make an amazing hand cream.

I apply a pea-sized amount to my face and neck, morning and night. It makes for a great moisturing base/primer to my Diorskin BB Cream (which I’ve been using daily) or any other kind of foundation for that matter. This product leaves my skin feeling  balanced and healthy, particularly when used in conjunction with my Hydraluron – they’re an unbeatable duo. Big thumbs up from me!

What do you look for when choosing a moisturiser and what’s your holy grail?

All content © 2013 splishsplasch

5 thoughts on “Favourite Moisturiser: Grown Alchemist Matte Balancing Moisturiser

  1. Great review! It sounds like we have similar skin, and I struggle so much with moisturisers, so I might have to grab this if I ever see it on sale! I’m currently using the Sukin one for sensitive skin.

    And by coincidence, I just reviewed the Grown hand cream yesterday – I love it!

    Amy x

    • Hi Amy, Thanks for your message 🙂 Definitely sample the moisturiser when you can – I think it’s amazing! Thanks so much for following too and I loved your review on the hand cream – that’s exactly the one I mentioned in my blog post! It smells heavenly. Have a fab day! x

  2. Pingback: My (somewhat overdue) French Skincare ‘City Pharma’ Haul | splishsplasch

  3. Pingback: January 2014 Beauty favourites | splishsplasch

  4. Pingback: Beauty items I’d repurchase in a heartbeat (if I could only own 10) | splishsplasch

Leave a Reply

