MAC Vegas Volt

MAC_vegas_volt_1

So i finally kicked my coral curiosity up a notch. Without sounding too vague what I meant was, I finally caved and purchased my very own MAC Vegas Volt. I’ve always considered Vegas Volt a cult classic, on par with Mac’s Ruby Woo, and since I love and own the latter I knew I needed to add the former to my arsenal.

MAC_vegas_volt_3

Vegas Volt is an amplified creme formulation, so expect lots of creamy goodness and an opaque finish. This is one of my favourite MAC lipstick formulations , mostly because I find the formula moisturising and soothing. The colour payoff is fantastic – it’s without doubt a full bodied shade. I usually get about 3-4 hours of wear before I need to touch up unless of course I’m going for a more stained look, in which case I use a balm.

MAC_vegas_volt_8

If you’re looking for something with a lot of punch (and I mean a lot) than you’ve just found your holy grail amped up coral. Admittedly it’s taking me a bit of time to get used to it as it’s super bright. If you’re looking for something more subtle simply tone it down by applying a single swipe of lip balm, and then layering and/or blotting a couple of coats, so as to get a more subdued, almost luster like finish. If, on the other hand you think this is just too intense a colour perhaps try MAC Crosswires. It leans more pink than orange and because it’s a different finish it’s somewhat subdued when compared to Vegas Volt. I’ve included a comparison pic of the swatches side by side or if you’re after after a review head over to here.

 

MAC_vegas_volt_9

Vegas Volt is a colour I’m planning on wearing  year round as I think it’s the perfect pick-me-up colour especially when going for a neutral eye look. So far, i’ve been combining this with a light application of BB cream, a dusting of tender peach blush and a simple black winged eye, and I’m pretty much good to go.

What are your thoughts on Vegas Volt? What do you like to pair it with?

All content © 2013 splishsplasch

Leave a Reply

