Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman duo fiber collection

RealTechniques_1

I’ve been meaning to write a review on the Real Technique Duo Fibre Collection for some time. I’ve actually had them for some weeks now, having bought them from iherb. I just want to say, I love iherb. I couldn’t resist the extra discount on top of the great price (these brushes are double the price in Australia, which is insanely ridiculous). I’ll link my discount code below if you’re interested in purchasing these brushes. I’m pretty sure iherb ship worldwide, plus they have lots of other great products too. Anyway back to the review…

RealTechniques_2

Firstly I’m no brush fanatic (or expert) by any stretch of the imagination. However, I thought I’d give this limited edition collection a whirl as I’m a fan of the Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman range – my favourite being the blush brush. Overall, I’m super happy with them and think they’re are great edition to my brush collection. Prior to my purchase I didn’t own any duo fibre brushes, but because I’m increasingly using more cream and powder products I thought these would be a great and versatile set to add to my collection. I’m a huge fan of dual action/multipurpose products, so these get my tick of approval.

RealTechniques_3

The brush collection comes with 3 brushes (face brush, contour brush and eye brush). The brushes themselves have white aluminum handles  (lightweight and easy to hold) and are domed shaped, with sparse yet plush bristles. Each brush has two different synthetic fibers intertwined making them fantastic for layering products and building controlled texture and dimension. I generally pick-up product on the tip of the brush and let the bristles on the shorter sides do all the blending.

What I love about these brushes is that they provide a light, almost sheer wash of colour to my face (depending what products I use). Product application takes on an almost airbrushed quality, and who doesn’t want that right? Perhaps I’m being generous in my review, but I honestly find these brushes disperse just the right amount of product and colour on my face.

RealTechniques_5

My favouite brush is the contour brush which I mostly use with contour creams and cream blushes. I use the face brush for powders e.g. bronzers and face powders and love the result. My least favouite brush is the eye brush, which I actually use as a concealer brush. I find using it this way diffuses the concealer really well, making it look light and airy as opposed to thick and glutinous.

Despite having read somewhat negative reviews, overall the duo fiber collection is good quality and great value in my opinion. They’re a fantastic set to add to any brush collection. Having said that you don’t necessarily need them. I’m very happy with their performance and would recommend them to anyone looking for a cheaper alternative to the MAC duo fiber brushes. Check them out at the very least.

Have you tried the Real techniques Duo Fibre brushes? I’d love to hear your thoughts on the set.

My iherb discount code: Receive an instant $10 off orders $40 and up, or $5 off orders $40 and under by using my code: NZQ517

All content © 2013 splishsplasch

6 thoughts on “Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman duo fiber collection

  1. Hi! Stumbled upon your blog and found it interesting. ^^
    Real Technique brushes are starting to get popular in Singapore (Where I’m from), and I’ve been wanting to give them a try but I still have not because of it’s pretty pricey here! After reading this I feel like I might not have the strength to resist anymore….. XP They sound good!! (And still cheaper than MAC!)

    xoxo
    Eugenia
    ThePrettyRoadTrip.wordpress.com

  2. I still don’t own any Real Techniques brushes. I keep adding them to my cart and they just sit there 😉 I’m a bit vary of hyped up products. I build up my expectations and expect them to be the best thing ever, but often it’s just ok. And than I feel tricked 😀

    • Yeah I know what you mean. I used to feel the same but then I realised everyone’s experiences are different – things work for some people and not for others. If I’m investing in something I consider expensive I always sample or test the product. It’s hard sometimes as I can be quite impulsive heheh… Especially when something is on offer 🙂

Leave a Reply

